Jean's Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2000
In the directions I think it should say to boil all of the ingredients till the sugar melts. There was so much sugar in the recipe that even when I let it boil for 7 minutes, the sugar wouldn't melt. You also have to stir it constantly or else it burns. I ended up with really granular burnt fudge. The directions need to be clearer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
Yikes! Not EXACTLY "fool-proof." What went wrong? The sugar never melted and started to scorch. (I remember a recipe like this from years ago, but never had trouble with it before) Seemed liked there was too much sugar in proportion to the other ingredients?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
This recipe was PERFECT! I just assumed with the amount of sugar in this recipe, and the milk, this is a recipe that had to be stirred. Mine did not burn, it turned out perfect! I have made it each year since it was added to the site. No problems with it here, but then, I am a seasoned cook and candy maker. I also don't need to have all directions spelled out, I figure it out on my own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Carnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA
Living In: Malvern, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
This had way too much sugar and was in no way fool proof. I had problems with it burning and being very gritty. I would not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This recipe is perfect every time! I start the time when the syrup starts to boil, another recipe on this site says to do that, too! I have not had it burn, I stir it quite a bit while it cooks. Watch the heat. Thanks for the great recipe, I now can make chocolate and the peanut butter fudge (from this site) without fail! My mother used to say some people are candy makers and some not, I am so glad I can do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I made this recipe and started to wounder when the sugar was going to evaporate. It never did. Too much sugar and it produced a grainy fudge. It wasn't a hit with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Clive, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
Very delicious. Made this for a bake sale. Some lady came and purchased all that I had left after purchasing a bag thirty minutes earlier. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This way way too sweet! The too high amount of sugar just about put me in a hyperglycemic shock state. It was also grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
OK In this persons defense, I love making fudge and this recipe may nat say to stir constantly. You are right there, however people who do make these kinds of treats know that when cooking with sugar in this amount you do hac=ve to stir it constantly. I loved this recipe and wil for sure use it again! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Linden, Michigan, USA
Living In: Calumet, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This is foolproof if you have a clue as to what you are doing. This might not be a good recipe for the inexperienced cook. I thought it was fantastic and very SIMPLE to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States