Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Instead of frying, I drizzled with butter, sprayed with pam and and baked in 400 degree. tasted awesome with less calories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lucylove
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
A hit! I'm not the biggest fish fan and have nothing but praise for this easy recipe. I cooked this tonight using Panko crumbs to which I added Italian seasoning. Everything else was per the recipe. All of the spices blended beautifully, and even though I used liberal pinches of red pepper, it wasn't at all hot. It was just nicely seasoned, perfectly cooked and wonderfully crunchy. A definite winner, I'll make this spice blend part of my regular fish rotation. Thanks, crabbyjean! Update: I've made this many times now, and have found that letting the fish rest for an hour in the fridge makes the coating stick even better. I make a big batch of the coating mix using gluten free panko crumbs, Italian seasoning and all the spices so I always have it handy. It's great for coating chicken, too. BTW - I now love fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This was DELICIOUS. I happened to have every single ingredient in my pantry and it turned out amazing. I followed the directions exactly. Thanks so much! I will definitely be adding this recipe to my regular dinners. My husband loved it as well! Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Today I tried this recipe and it was good. I did not have the roasted onions flakes, so I substituted with Mrs. Dash onion and herb seasoning, I also added 1tsp of parsley flakes. I the place the fish in the egg and milk mixture in a Tupperware bowl with a top and put in the refrigerator for 45 min. Then I put the dry ingredients in a plastic gallon size bag and put the fish in it and slightly shake the bag. I place the fish in a pan (spray pan with Pam) and drizzle the lemon and butter over it. Place pan in the refrigerator for 1 hour and place in oven for 35min on 325 or until golden brown. It was so tasty. This is going to be one of my favorite recipe for my favorite fish Tilapia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I made some changes....I used panko bread crumbs instead of the regular Italian bread crumbs. I added the juice of one lemon to melted butter, drizzled it on top and baked it (as suggested by another reviewer) It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Very yummy! I followed the recipe exactly and will make this again. Next time I may try a little hot sauce in the egg and milk to spice the fish up even more. I used Haddock and it does cook very quickly. I chilled the coated fish for one hour prior to frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barb57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Greene, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This was just excellent. Never considered bread crumbs before, so this was a nice surprise. The only changes I made was regular bread crumbs, but added in the classic Italian herbs and left out the red pepper flakes (I live with wimps) and it was lovely. Can't imagine any light fish that this wouldn't work with very well. Nice job and thanks for the imagination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lost Southern Boy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Bern, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
very good. nice crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Great spicy taste for fish. Since we don't like tilapia, I used sole and it came out wonderful. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bussum, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Have tried this recipe with pickerel and bass...all our store bought talapia comes from China and I don't think I need to tell you how they farm it...the recipe was good...instead of bread crumbs I put oats in a blender...great and more nutritious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Discover the delicious and easy way to prepare tilapia.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States