Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Made this with cod fillets. Used Panko instead of bread crumbs and baked instead of fried - everything else as written. AWESOME!! Wonderful flavor. I did put the breaded fillets in the fridge for about an hour (just long enough to get the rest of my dinner together) before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I made this for my family just this week. They loved it. The hour in the fridge makes a huge difference when frying the fish. It actually stays on the fish rather than falling off when you flip the fish over. Not at all greasy either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISERABLESHELL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
LOVE THIS DISH! Use fillet of flounder (wild) instead of tilapia (farm raised). Delicious, everyone enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Been using this (my mother-in-law's" recipe for decades), nothing new here except for the blackened & red flakes spices. Using more garlic, onion (flakes or powder) doesn't overpower the fresh fish taste. You can use only the egg white, forget the milk or use egg beaters instead of the whole egg for a healthier version. I find flounder, Nothern Pike or any mild whitefish is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I drench the dish on some seasoned flour first so the egg mixture would stick more on the fish and do a double dip with the egg and bread crumbs. works beautifully. it also adds an extra crunch on the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Have tried this recipe with pickerel and bass...all our store bought talapia comes from China and I don't think I need to tell you how they farm it...the recipe was good...instead of bread crumbs I put oats in a blender...great and more nutritious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This recipe is fantastic. I would add a little more red pepper flakes next time as we like a little more zip. But it was great as is. I baked instead of fried and used cod. Absolutely wonderful and crisp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This was just excellent. Never considered bread crumbs before, so this was a nice surprise. The only changes I made was regular bread crumbs, but added in the classic Italian herbs and left out the red pepper flakes (I live with wimps) and it was lovely. Can't imagine any light fish that this wouldn't work with very well. Nice job and thanks for the imagination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lost Southern Boy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Bern, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Im not much of a fish person, so I was really surprised that I liked this so much. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Today I tried this recipe and it was good. I did not have the roasted onions flakes, so I substituted with Mrs. Dash onion and herb seasoning, I also added 1tsp of parsley flakes. I the place the fish in the egg and milk mixture in a Tupperware bowl with a top and put in the refrigerator for 45 min. Then I put the dry ingredients in a plastic gallon size bag and put the fish in it and slightly shake the bag. I place the fish in a pan (spray pan with Pam) and drizzle the lemon and butter over it. Place pan in the refrigerator for 1 hour and place in oven for 35min on 325 or until golden brown. It was so tasty. This is going to be one of my favorite recipe for my favorite fish Tilapia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Discover the delicious and easy way to prepare tilapia.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States