Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
You have some very creative people that send in recipes! I loved this. It was easy to make, and as another reviewer said, I happened to have all the ingredients in my cabinet, so it made it easy. I will try another reviewer's idea of baking them also, but this was perfect. May not be necessary to use the salt, but what little you put in shouldn't make a big difference. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I just tried this recipe on fresh Rock Fish That was caught Yesterday.I also baked it, 350 for 20min. I just E-mailed the recipe to a friend that said he didn't really like fish.I hope he doesn't like it, so I can get more fresh fish......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Made this with cod fillets. Used Panko instead of bread crumbs and baked instead of fried - everything else as written. AWESOME!! Wonderful flavor. I did put the breaded fillets in the fridge for about an hour (just long enough to get the rest of my dinner together) before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I made this for my family just this week. They loved it. The hour in the fridge makes a huge difference when frying the fish. It actually stays on the fish rather than falling off when you flip the fish over. Not at all greasy either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISERABLESHELL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
LOVE THIS DISH! Use fillet of flounder (wild) instead of tilapia (farm raised). Delicious, everyone enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Been using this (my mother-in-law's" recipe for decades), nothing new here except for the blackened & red flakes spices. Using more garlic, onion (flakes or powder) doesn't overpower the fresh fish taste. You can use only the egg white, forget the milk or use egg beaters instead of the whole egg for a healthier version. I find flounder, Nothern Pike or any mild whitefish is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I drench the dish on some seasoned flour first so the egg mixture would stick more on the fish and do a double dip with the egg and bread crumbs. works beautifully. it also adds an extra crunch on the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Have tried this recipe with pickerel and bass...all our store bought talapia comes from China and I don't think I need to tell you how they farm it...the recipe was good...instead of bread crumbs I put oats in a blender...great and more nutritious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This recipe is fantastic. I would add a little more red pepper flakes next time as we like a little more zip. But it was great as is. I baked instead of fried and used cod. Absolutely wonderful and crisp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This was just excellent. Never considered bread crumbs before, so this was a nice surprise. The only changes I made was regular bread crumbs, but added in the classic Italian herbs and left out the red pepper flakes (I live with wimps) and it was lovely. Can't imagine any light fish that this wouldn't work with very well. Nice job and thanks for the imagination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lost Southern Boy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Bern, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Discover the delicious and easy way to prepare tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States