Jeannie's Famous Potato Hamburger Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
This is good old comfort food - we liked it! I substituted fat free half and half instead of heavy cream - not so fattening and still tasted good! I will make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanab, Utah, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
This is SOOO good!The only changes I made were a can of evaporated milk in place of the cream,and cut down the amount of potatoes to 4.I also chopped the onion instead of slices. Very hearty and very tastee! My husband and son loved it,and I have saved this recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
This turned out excellent. Husband and I loved it and he has requested I make it again! He said I should add more cheese, but he says that about everything. At first I thought I would need to add more meat because hubby is a big meat eater, but the meat-to-potato ratio is perfect, DON'T CHANGE IT!!! My only suggestion is to cut the potatoes into smaller pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
My family loooves this casserole. I add a little sausage with the hamburger and serve it with grits, buttermilk biscuits, fresh tomatoes, and green onions. Prep time is a little tedious, but worth it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
very good stuff! Easy to prepare, great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Mackey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
I enjoyed this dish. I am going to add it to my "comfort food" recipes. This dish reminded me of a Greek pasta dish called Pastitsio, which is ground beef and macaroni in a white sauce with just a hint of cinnamon or nutmeg. After taking my first bite of this casserole, I sprinkled a little nutmeg over it and I had an Americanized version of Pastitsio. I followed other suggestions of boiling the potatoes first and making extra sauce. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dog Lovin' Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: Dalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
This recipe was good. I substituted potatoes for a bag of country hashbrown potatoes instead. It turned out in 30 Minutes!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherie B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA
Living In: Galt, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
this receipe was GREAT! i made 1/2 w/ hot pepper cheese and 1/2 w/ swiss since some family members don't like spicy tastes. it was GONE! definitely make this again. i used instant potatoes to save time (garlic and cheddar to be exact) great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
This recipe turned out good but took far to long to prepare and it's definitely not low in fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
The prep time was a tad long, but the recipe turned out great. I will probably add less of the sauce and more cheese next time, but I'm a cheese hound. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States