Jeannie's Famous Potato Hamburger Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
My husband and I both loved this. He is not big on leftovers and he ate it for lunch for 2 days! I made it as stated except I had some fresh mushrooms that I needed to use so I did a layer of those which I will do again. I also used some extra cheese and it was almost too much cheese. Next time I will just use the amount of cheese the recipe called for. ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL! I am so glad I tried this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I think 4 cups of milk/cream are wayyyy too much for a measly 1/4C flour roux. Very, very runny. The cheese cooked down into unappetizing, grainy lumps. Biggest flavor of this dish was *greasy*. With some changes, the potato/beef/cheese combo could be good. We added peas to our casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I made this tonight for dinner ...Thought it was very good! I added oregno and parsley to give it a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Was very good and rich. Although the sliced potatoes took an extra 30 minutes before they were done. I'd like to try hashbrowns or diced potatoes next time. Otherwise, very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
We really liked this I well make this again. It came out a little soupy I well be sure to lighten up on the milk next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh M.,

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Bland, Bland, Bland! I cooked this recipe exactly as listed. I pre-boiled the potatoes whole like reveiwers stated. I cut them into some cubes. I cooked it for one hour. The potatoes were done but very bland. I should of added some spices or something. My end product was not ruiny but I was afraid it would be. The leftovers were not that great either. My boyfriend really liked it (so I gave it two stars), however, I will not make again. I was very disappointed for a four star meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
For the amount of prep this was really bland; no taste except the meat - found it very mealy and we ended up throwing it out and going out for dinner. Sorry, will not make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Copper Cliff, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Not bad, but not necessarily worth the effort. This would have been so bland had I not highly seasoned the dish. I also lightened this up by using ground turkey, skim milk, fat free half and half and only two tablespoons of butter. I was able to cut back on the liquid by adding a "healthy" can of cream of chicken soup which gave it a nice flavor. I used my Pampered Chef mandolin to thinly slice my potatoes, but I still placed them in the microwave for fifteen minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Awesome! My husband loves it so much that he could eat the whole pan by himself! The only thing I did differently was used tater tots instead of potatoes to save time on chopping. If you do this, make sure you bake them in the oven for about 20 min (while meat is browning) before you layer them or else the casserole will take FOREVER to cook! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
ENJOYED MAKING THIS DISH, BUT WAS VERY BLAND. MIGHT TRY AGAIN USING CUMIN OR CHILI POWDER OR SOMETHIG WITH A LITTLE ZING TO IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States