Jeannie's Famous Potato Hamburger Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Kids loved it - Husband loved it...great comfort meal and easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I found this recipe looking for some real comfort food for dinner tonight with ingredient that I had. I'd like to start off by saying that I am not a calorie-counter-- never, ever actually, but happened to see the calorie count in the nutrition info and was shocked at the calories and fat in this dish! 852 calories and 64.8 gms of fat in one serving! Holey Moley! I made some substitutions for taste and to lower the cal/fat. I parboiled my potatoes, but I won't bother next time. An hour in the oven will be fine as long as you slice them relatively thin (1/8 inch). I added a few dashes of Worcestershire sauce and some chopped banana peppers (with the extra juice squeezed out) to the ground beef. For the sauce I substituted 1.5 cups of 2% milk and 1.5 cups of light chicken stock for the 3 cups of milk. Instead of a cup of heavy cream I used 1/2 cup of sour cream that I had on hand. I was going to add a full cup but the sauce was rich enough with only 1/2 cup . These substitutions cut the fat and calories by half! I also added an additional 1 tbl. of flour to the roux because some other reviewers complained of runniness. I browned-up the roux to make the sauce a little more robust. Be sure to keep the flame low and keep stirring. I used 2 cups of cheese instead of 4, which seemed like overkill: I used 1 cup of a jack, cheddar, asadero blend and 1 cup of shredded mozz. I cooked it for an hour in a large cast-iron skillet and it was perfectly done: crisp and bro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This recipe was a good starting point for what I was craving. I microwaved my sliced potatoes for 10 minutes, made a cheesey cream sauce (using Velveeta), topped it all off with about a 2 cups of cheddar. We all really liked it, especially my 2 and 6 year olds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
this was a great recipe we enjoyed it alot I didn't have a full cup of cream so i did use 1/2 a cup cream and 1/2 a cup of sourcream. When i make it again i am going to add a little more seasonings but this recipe really doesn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
great stuff on a cold day, easy to make.Serious comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
A good easy recipe. For a breakfast twist, replace the hamburger with ground sausage...really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
We loved this "comfort food." We made a few amendments - we didn't have potatoes, so we used the frozen potato hashbrown squares instead. We fried them up in veggie oil while making the white sauce, then just crumbled them into the layers as directed. We loved the texture and flavor the hashbrowns gave it. Also, we only had 1.5 cups of milk in the house, so we substituted half & half for the remaining amount of milk called for in the recipe. This added a nice richness to the white sauce (along with the extra calories, so I would not prepare it this way all the time.) If you are in the mood for comfort food, this meets the bill. Not too time consuming, inexpensive, and (well...) comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I cut back on the potatoes and cooked them before I mixed them in...if onions are too potent...saute them before browning the hamburger...garlic and onion powder...extra cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaDigger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
i absolutely loved this meal and so did the 7 other people i fed it to, i added an extra onion because i am such an onion lover and also added corn as an alternating layer and it turned out awesome, i will definitly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
My husband and I both loved this. He is not big on leftovers and he ate it for lunch for 2 days! I made it as stated except I had some fresh mushrooms that I needed to use so I did a layer of those which I will do again. I also used some extra cheese and it was almost too much cheese. Next time I will just use the amount of cheese the recipe called for. ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL! I am so glad I tried this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States