Jeannie's Famous Potato Hamburger Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This was pretty bland, especially considering I seasoned along the way. I was expecting it to be similar to Scalloped potatoes and onions from this site (that one has no cheese though) and prepared the potatoes similarly. My kids did like it, it just wasn't worth all the preparation steps to keep making it. It wasn't difficult, just time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
My husband LOVED this and said it just got better as leftovers. I did use the evaporated milk instead of the heavy cream and I think that may be all I changed in the recipe. Microwaved and sliced the potatoes. I may use a little more beef next time as when the 1 lb cooked down there wasn't a lot there. Delicious though! This will definitely go into our rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Both my husband and I thought this dish was good. He actually said it was delicious and he had it the next night after I made it. So still good warmed up. I am vegetarian so instead of hamburger meat I used MorningStar Farm griller crumbles. I sauteed the onions with the crumbles. I mixed in a can of sliced carrots before adding to casserole. I used 3cups fat free milk and a half cup of sour cream. I put in less cheese as well and used mrs. dash all purpose seasonings in the sauce instead of adding salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Not the healthiest recipe I've ever made - but EXCELLENT comfort food! I followed the recipe fairly closely - here were my alterations: I did NOT use the heavy cream, nor did I use the 1 extra cup of milk (just 3 cups of milk). I also added the cheese to the sauce while it was still cooking (since this is what I do when making au gratin potatoes). Lastly, I cooked it for 1 hour at 400 (again, like my au gratin potatoes) - covering with foil for the first 45 minutes. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
If I were the only one reviewing it, I would have given it a big "no thanks!!" but my kids seemed to like it, 2 of them even asking for seconds. It needed way longer cooking time and was still too watery when served. I agree with many previous reviewers that it was bland so I had to add some garlic salt at the table. Not planning on making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneBiteRule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Definate hit! I did use the ideas of other reviewers to reduce calories. One time I used cream of chicken soup instead of heavy cream the other time I used 1/2 cup sour cream. Both were good. I sprinkled each layer with garlic powder and sprinkled the top with oregano. It made the "make again list".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This was a very good recipe! I had everything around the house already so I decided to try it out. I changed a couple of things though. Instead of using milk and heavy cream I used one can of cream of mushroom soup and one cup of prepared chicken broth. This gave the recipe some extra flavor. I also added some Mrs.Dash and Lowry's seasoning salt. I cut back on the cheese a bit too but it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I have mixed feelings with this one. Very rich indeed......not sure if I did something wrong, but ours came out too soupy. I ended up cooking a bit more hamburger and some hashbrown potatoes to add to it. So now we have tons leftover, haha! I would definitely like to try it again, but maybe next time use less milk and cream for the amount of meat and potatoes it calls for. I also added season salt and garlic powder to the sauce. I think the hasbrown potatoes work better too unless you cut your potatoes super thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda Hendrickson Butts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This was just way too bland for my family. May be a good basic recipe to jazz up with whatever extra you might have on hand or are in the mood for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and the potatoes were not cooked and slightly crisp. The amount of hamburger seems too little for this size pan and lacks flavor. We basically tasted cheese and cream. Very rich and not enough flavor for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States