Jeannie's Famous Potato Hamburger Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
overall very good...did have to tweek it to get a little flavor....added garlic and hot sauce....a little greasy. Next time I'll try it with chicken....Kids and hubby enjoyed it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This recipe (with a few of my adjustments and adjustments made by other reviewers) was SOOOO GOOD! First, instead of cooking the onions, which I didn't have, I started right with cooking the ground beef. I seasoned extra lean ground beef with plenty of onion powder and garlic powder, some Adobo seasoning, steak seasoning, garlic salt, 1/2 small can of chopped green chilies (suggested by reviewers from New Mexico) and black pepper. I then added a scoop of sour cream to the cooled meat and about 1TB. of Worcestershire sauce. Next for the Au Gratin potato portion, I made the roux like directed (no problems here for me) and then mixed in about 2 tsp. of chicken bouillon and about 2 cups of 1% milk. When this mixture thickened up, I turned off the heat and added 2 cups of grated sharp cheddar cheese, the rest of the can of chopped green chilies, another 1 TB. of Worcestershire sauce and about 1/2C. of sour cream. To the sauce, I added my thin cut potato slices (I used 3 large red potatoes that I had boiled until tender, then peeled and sliced). Lastly, I layered my potato mixture with ground beef in a buttered baking dish (potatoes, beef, potatoes, beef, ending with potatoes). I baked dish covered at 350 degrees for 45 minutes. And then uncovered dish, added some green onions (chives) to the top and cooked for an additional 10 minutes. For the last 5 minutes, I broiled the dish in order to get a bubbly and toasty top. My husband loved the dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chaneenie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I did not care for this recipe. It sounded good, but the end result was uncooked potatoes, way-too-rich sauce, and no flavor. I actually tasted it, then put it back into the oven while I made something else to feed my husband. I tried it hours later, but the potatoes were still not cooked! I did not eat any, calling it a lesson learned. BEWARE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This was OUTSTANDING. I pretty much made it as the recipe calls, but I did read the other reviews first. I was very careful about the roux (white sauce) making sure that it thickened properly. My family thought it was great. The reviewer who described this as potatoes au gratin containing hamburger was rather accurate. Very tasty. Yes, I'll make it again. It is a bit rich which is why it tastes so good, I suppose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OhioKEE
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This turned out sooooooooo good!!! I am also from Albuquerque, New Mexico so I added the hot green chili like someone else said they did. I put 2 1/2 cups of milk, 1 can of cream of mushroom soup, and two scoops of sour cream. I used two pounds of Hamburger meat that I seasoned with pepper, garlic, salt, and the onions. My husband, and son loved it too. The next day after being in the fridge it was really good warmed up, and put in flour tortillas for burritoes. We want to make it again, and with the left overs add eggs for breakfast burritoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I would have given this reciepe 5 stars because I thought it was great, but hubby didn't like it. He didn't finish his surving which is unlike him. I should have cooked it longer though because the potatoes were not cooked all the way. Unfortunately I will not be making this again because it was not well recieved:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This was good, but I will be adding more meat and some green chiles( I am from New Mexico!!haha) next time! It was also stuck to the pan really bad! It took me 2 days to get it clean. I think I will try Pam next time to make sure I don't have the same problem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
The directions have been clarified. The milk and cream should be simmered for 10 minutes after it has been added to the roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
They need to add directions stating that after adding the 3 cups milk it needs to be stirred until it simmers and then simmer until thickened. I think that is why so many people are saying it is watery, mine came out the same way. I was going to thicken it up but thought I had better follow the directions which say to gradually add the milk, add the cream and then remove from heat. Nice flavor (I seasoned the meat with goya adobo) so I might try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I made this last night and really didn't like it at all. Even with lightening up the recipe as per another reviewer, I thought it was too rich. I also was not able to get the roue to gel and got lots of little flour clumps. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States