Jeannie's Famous Potato Hamburger Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I had high expectations for this recipe but was disappointed. The sauce would not thicken and so I had to add corn starch, this took well over a 1/2 hour to get it to thicken. The potatoes do have to be par-cooked before baking or they will be raw. The sauce had a good flavor and the onions were great. Not sure how to tweek it, or if I would even try. I hope someone else has some ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
NEEDS changes! #1 Be sure to add enough salt and pepper to make a difference, and add garlic and parsley to beef mixture, and sprinkle paprika on final top. #2 Be prepared to leave this "covered" in the oven for a ample amount of time. I baked it for 1:40 minutes and the potatoes were STILL not done! Take foil off and crisp top after it is all cooked. #3 To make it simpler, a can of cream of chicken or mushroom soup with milk and sour cream will do in place of the roux, which is time consuming. #4 Cook the onions "with" the ground beef, no need to make it another step! #5 A full pound of beef is not necessary for this dish. (1/2 - 3/4 is plenty)! Following the recipe as is.... leaves you with a runny sauce in the end and nearly raw potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Awesome dish -- kids love it, and so did I. And feeds a large crew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
used 4 potatoes with skins , evap milk for crm and skim milk 2 cups chs, icbinb for bttr needs a little salt and more meat prob 2 lbs kids liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Great use of leftover potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Made as listed the first time, and made again with some changes. Original recipe lacked flavor. Added some Worchestersire sauce, garlic, mushrooms and chopped hot pickled pepper rings. Much improved. I really enjoyed this recipe with the additions to boost the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I cooked it exactly to the recipe but I seasoned the hamburger as it was cooking Took 2 hours to bake before the potatoes were cooked. Had to send the husband out to pick up a pizza for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I donno what I did wrong with this but I could not eat it : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This was just great. Perfect for my meat a potato loving men in the house. It is like meaty scalloped potatoes.I followed the recipe as best as I could. Did not have cream, but using just extra milk worked fine. Leftovers this morning were delish. Bet it would freeze well. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Bland to me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States