Jeannie's Famous Potato Hamburger Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Okay I made 2 casseroles, 1 I parboiled the potatoes and then sliced them with my Pampered Chef ultimate slice n grate and the other I just sliced it paper thin witht he slice and grate. The y both came out at the same time and both were done! I thinkyou just have to have them paper thin. The Recipe was Fantastic, great with my left over turkey my family raved about it, one we added some hot peppers to for the adults, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Great recipe with lots of opportunities. In addition to serving this casserole as a main meal I plan to change the hamburger to hot bulk sausage and serve as a side dish for a brunch or breakfast. I used feta. cheddar and mozzarella cheese as that is what I had on hand. I would cut back on the milk to 2 cups or maybe 2 1/2 next time. A definite keeper, my husband and I both loved this recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
What a wonderful flavor. After reading some reviews about not being able to get the potatoes fully cooked, I just boiled them before slicing them. (brought them to a boil, turned them off and covered them for ten minutes, then I bathed them in cold water, till I was ready to slice them) The result was a slightly under cooked potato that finished off nicely in the casserole. It turned out great. The next day I put the left overs in an augratin dish over a bed of frozen peas. I added a tbls of heavy cream to the peas, and topped it all with a little more cheese. Again great result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
This recipe took FAR too long to prepare than what it was worth. If someone else decides to make it, the tip to make sure the potatoes are sliced thin means THIN. I mean, you can see through the potato THIN. I left this in for over an hour and even though the slices were thin, they still didn't get done. The sauce was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
What a great recipe! It could use some salt and pepper, but perfect otherwise. I recommended it to my family, and they love it, too. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachakno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Priest River, Idaho, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
This was great, loved it. The only changes I made was I increased the hamburger to two pounds and used a 2 pound bag of Ore-Ida Southern style hash browns in place of the potatoes. Next time I'll use a bigger baking dish as it barely all fit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ingleside, Texas, USA
Living In: Aransas Pass, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
This was really good - and plenty for left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NMChef1
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
Mind you, I'm a newish cook, but I made this exactly to spec and it turned out to be not very good. I ate the whole thing, both hot out of the oven, and as leftovers.I think the main problem was the sauce; I'm not sure what the goal was, but it turned out partly curdled and watery for me. The recipe should remind people to use thinly-sliced potatoes; some thicker slices in my version didn't cook well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
Kind of bland......I prefer my beef and potatoe moussaka recipe. Much tastier with different sauce layered in there. Will have to post it sometime....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
Good casserole right out of the oven; better casserole leftover after the flavors blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States