Jeannie's Famous Potato Hamburger Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I tried this recipe but used instant mashed potatoes, seasoned hamburger, bacon, and velveeta. I cooked the burger and potatoes, combined them and spread it into a 9x13 sized pan. Then added crumbled pieces of bacon and topped with velveeta. I then baked it for about 20 minutes at 350. It was great! Even the picky eater cleaned his plate ;) Very good quick meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Great dish for potluck! My family loved it and had a few raves also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This was a HIT! But I did add some extras to it. I just added a few extra spices; TexJoy, garlic powder, few pepper flakes. I would NOT have tried this had I not just ordered a Pro Salad Shooter. I had 6 perfectly sliced up potatoes in less than 5 minutes! I used Butter Russets. I also added some french fried onions to the top over the last of the cheese. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
One of the most delicious meals I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Country Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leicester, Leicestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Very good. Watch the size of your potatoes...I used extra large baking potatoes, and had to get a second dish to fit it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJOURNI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Well it turned out all soupy but it was good...too much milk and not enough potatoes,meat etc...But it did taste ok...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This was very good! I just mixed some green bell pepper and onion in with the ground beef while it was frying, and it turned out good! I used frozen tater tots, but make sure you bake them before you use them in the casserole, or it'll never get done! Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jefferson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Warrensville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This was a great meal that 3 of 4 kids loved!! The one kid only likes Mac and Cheese!! I did use Lipton Soup mix instead of the onions cause my whole family hates onions mainly my wife!! I also cooked it at 340 for 1 hour to get the potatoes perfect and they were!! I did not change any of the other ingredients this is a must try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
In my book, this is a recipe to be used as a springboard for your own interpretation. I made it my way last night, and it was very, very good...as simple comfort food. I knew at a glance that the white sauce was wrong (and other reviewers found runny) so I used Cook's Illustrated classic white sauce: 1/4 cup butter, generous 1/4 cup flour, two cups chicken stock and 3/4 cup heavy cream. Perfect. I diced my onions for my toddler's sake and sauteed in bacon fat to pack some more flavor. I then removed them, sauteed the beef in 1 tbsp bacon fat as well and then combined the onions and beef. I par-boiled the potatoes and sliced them thin. Then I layered as directed using my white sauce and just eyeballing the cheese. I was a bit worried I might not have enough white sauce but it really spread out and expanded during cooking and was perfect. We really enjoyed this very much as I made it! Might add sauteed chopped spinach to the beef mixture next time -- not to improve the flavor but to sneak more veggies in my son...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I had high expectations for this recipe but was disappointed. The sauce would not thicken and so I had to add corn starch, this took well over a 1/2 hour to get it to thicken. The potatoes do have to be par-cooked before baking or they will be raw. The sauce had a good flavor and the onions were great. Not sure how to tweek it, or if I would even try. I hope someone else has some ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States