Jeannie's Famous Potato Hamburger Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
receipe is bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I tried this recipe but used instant mashed potatoes, seasoned hamburger, bacon, and velveeta. I cooked the burger and potatoes, combined them and spread it into a 9x13 sized pan. Then added crumbled pieces of bacon and topped with velveeta. I then baked it for about 20 minutes at 350. It was great! Even the picky eater cleaned his plate ;) Very good quick meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Great dish for potluck! My family loved it and had a few raves also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This was a HIT! But I did add some extras to it. I just added a few extra spices; TexJoy, garlic powder, few pepper flakes. I would NOT have tried this had I not just ordered a Pro Salad Shooter. I had 6 perfectly sliced up potatoes in less than 5 minutes! I used Butter Russets. I also added some french fried onions to the top over the last of the cheese. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
One of the most delicious meals I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Country Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leicester, Leicestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Very good. Watch the size of your potatoes...I used extra large baking potatoes, and had to get a second dish to fit it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJOURNI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Well it turned out all soupy but it was good...too much milk and not enough potatoes,meat etc...But it did taste ok...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This was very good! I just mixed some green bell pepper and onion in with the ground beef while it was frying, and it turned out good! I used frozen tater tots, but make sure you bake them before you use them in the casserole, or it'll never get done! Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jefferson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Warrensville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This was a great meal that 3 of 4 kids loved!! The one kid only likes Mac and Cheese!! I did use Lipton Soup mix instead of the onions cause my whole family hates onions mainly my wife!! I also cooked it at 340 for 1 hour to get the potatoes perfect and they were!! I did not change any of the other ingredients this is a must try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
In my book, this is a recipe to be used as a springboard for your own interpretation. I made it my way last night, and it was very, very good...as simple comfort food. I knew at a glance that the white sauce was wrong (and other reviewers found runny) so I used Cook's Illustrated classic white sauce: 1/4 cup butter, generous 1/4 cup flour, two cups chicken stock and 3/4 cup heavy cream. Perfect. I diced my onions for my toddler's sake and sauteed in bacon fat to pack some more flavor. I then removed them, sauteed the beef in 1 tbsp bacon fat as well and then combined the onions and beef. I par-boiled the potatoes and sliced them thin. Then I layered as directed using my white sauce and just eyeballing the cheese. I was a bit worried I might not have enough white sauce but it really spread out and expanded during cooking and was perfect. We really enjoyed this very much as I made it! Might add sauteed chopped spinach to the beef mixture next time -- not to improve the flavor but to sneak more veggies in my son...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States