Jeanne's Chocolate Kiss Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Very good cookie. My husband is not a fan of any chocolate and peanut butter combination, so this recipe was great for our family. Following other reviewer's suggestions, I chilled the dough for 1 hour. I also added 1/8 teas. baking powder to reduce butter sprawl and lowered the butter to 2 sticks and the sugar to 1 1/2 cup. I did roll the cookies in 1/4 cup sugar before baking because I like the crackled look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I enjoyed this recipe, and it really went over well with the chocolate lovers in my family.... the only thing is that my cookies did not turn out like the recipe...mine were quite flat! I think it is very very important to make sure you make these smaller rather than on the bigger side... the smaller balls seemed to keep a bit rounder like the photograph... also, once the first batch goes into the oven you are busy rolling the next batch, so at least to speed up the process, unwrapped the kisses ahead of time. I also needed more suger than the 1/3 c. for rolling the chocolate balls in. Everyone liked them and I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie ...from...Saskatchewan!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bruno, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Eston, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
very good cookie. made a few changes to work for me, and it was excellent. used two different kinds of kisses and both were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
These were a hit at work. I made the recipe as posted and they turned out great. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Was very good and chewy everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hartford, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and these turned out super flat and greasy. I never have problems with cookie recipes and this was one was a total bust. I am not sure what the problem was. I let the dough chill for 35 minutes because it was like frosting instead of dough until it chilled. My family liked the taste but I think they are way to greasy and looked ugly. I wont be making these cookies again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OLYBROWNS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I refrigerated the dough, as suggested, and used the peppermint kisses for Christmas cookies--they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chinah
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I made these cookies last night, thinking it wasn't going to take very long for me to whip up and feed my cookie craving. I was wrong. I followed the recipe exactly as it read and the dough came out more like cake batter. I had to add about 1 1/2 - 2 Cups more flour than the recipe originally called for, then had to refrigerate the dough for about 20-30 minutes for me to be able to work with. I rolled out the dough and while it was baking, I just threw the raw dough in the refrigerator to keep it nice and cool and easy to work with. Other than that little snag these cookies turned out amazing! They are really moist and fluffly!! My husband Loves them and so do I! We highly recommend them! I'll definately be making these again!! =) **I made these cookies again and hand mixed in the flour/cocoa powder mix instead of using a mixer and they came out fine. i still chilled them for about 20 minutes or so, and used a cookie scoop to scoop them out and they came out fine. They would still be a little to sticky to work with if you were to use your hands, so i would still recommend adding a bit more flour to make the dough less sticky. But i still love these cookies and highly recommend them =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chinah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
YUMMY! Followed recipe exactly and let the dough chill for an 1hr like others had suggested. The kiddos enjoyed making and EATING these delicious cookies!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
These cookies were delicious and easy to make. They are for the chocolate lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States