Jeanne's Chocolate Kiss Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
The cookie itself was really tasty - nice and soft. However, they did turn out a little flat. I tried to put the kisses on, but since they were so flat, I'm opting to just drizzle with w little icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This recipe was quite good and the taste does deserve a better rating than the three stars I am giving it. It was very chocolaty and delicious, but I was not pleased with how these cookies turned out in looks and partially in texture. I put the dough to chill in the refrigerator to make it easier to roll these in balls and they were but during the baking process they still flattened out too much for my liking. Then I am not sure why I did not appreciate the gritty texture of having the white sugar on the outside of these cookies. Otherwise everything else was fine. I may try these again but I'd substitute rolling it in white sugar for confectioners sugar, but that is my preference. I may chill the dough much longer than I did as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
OH MY GOSH!!! These are the best. I rolled either 1/2 of a peanutbutter cup or a kiss in the balls and they were so darn good. I also used 2 sticks of butter and about 1/2 cup more of flour and refridgerated dough for 30 minutes or so. Actually a fairly and quick "gourmet cookie" to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was delicious with a couple changes. First I scaled the recipe to make 20 cookies - this scale called for 7 Tbsps of butter, and since some reviews mentioned that the cookies came out flat/greasy, I used 5 Tbsp instead. I chilled the dough for 15 min or so before rolling into balls and baking for 10 minutes. The cookies came out nice and puffy and perfect looking and I used peanut butter chocolate kisses. The reduced butter (I actually used margarine) gave the cookies the perfect shape, and they still taste very rich, but also have the bonus of having 10 calories less per cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I don't know what is wrong, I thought that once baked these they would stay balls and then I would smash them with the kiss and they would be puffy with a kiss in the middle like peanut butter blossom cookies. These turned out completely flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Very good cookie. My husband is not a fan of any chocolate and peanut butter combination, so this recipe was great for our family. Following other reviewer's suggestions, I chilled the dough for 1 hour. I also added 1/8 teas. baking powder to reduce butter sprawl and lowered the butter to 2 sticks and the sugar to 1 1/2 cup. I did roll the cookies in 1/4 cup sugar before baking because I like the crackled look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I enjoyed this recipe, and it really went over well with the chocolate lovers in my family.... the only thing is that my cookies did not turn out like the recipe...mine were quite flat! I think it is very very important to make sure you make these smaller rather than on the bigger side... the smaller balls seemed to keep a bit rounder like the photograph... also, once the first batch goes into the oven you are busy rolling the next batch, so at least to speed up the process, unwrapped the kisses ahead of time. I also needed more suger than the 1/3 c. for rolling the chocolate balls in. Everyone liked them and I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie ...from...Saskatchewan!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bruno, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Eston, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
very good cookie. made a few changes to work for me, and it was excellent. used two different kinds of kisses and both were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
These were a hit at work. I made the recipe as posted and they turned out great. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Was very good and chewy everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hartford, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States