Jeanie's Falafel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
My boyfriend and I were craving falafel and found this recipe which had great reviews and looked fairly easy to prepare. We decided to bake them since my deep-frying skills aren't the greatest. They had a great crunch and were nice and soft inside. The combined flavours tasted just like the yummy take-out ones we craved, and were a lot healthier. This was a great recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
this recipe was great, i pretty much followed everything exactly as stated, with the exception that i added a whole egg to the mixture. (i did this because, like others, i noted that it seemed a bit dry.) everything held together well during the frying process, without coating it anything in flour etc. also, rather than molding the mixture into balls, i patted them into patties about the size of the circle formed when you touch the tip of your middle finger to the tip of your thumb, about an 3/4 of an inch thick. this cut down on the frying time (and absorption of oil), and made neater pita pockets :). thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
The first batch that I fried up were GREAT (didn't have cilantro, and added some finely chopped mushrooms as well), but I made the mistake of not letting the oil reheat to make the second batch. MAKE SURE THAT THE OIL IS SUPER HOT AND THAT YOU ALLOW IT TO REHEAT TO A SUPER HOT TEMPERATURE BETWEEN BATCHES, OR ELSE THEY WILL FALL APART.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Spangler McKendry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Manchester, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
Delicious!!! Be sure to add enough bread crumbs to make a "burger" consistency. I fried them as burgers, put 1000 island, tomatoes, lettuce and cucumbers on a hamburger bun, and had a feast! Wonderful, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
this is a great recipe! If you guys want quick, semi homemade falafel that takes about 20 minutes to make from start to finish.. buy a box of falafel mix from an ethnic food store and mix it with a can of mashed chickpeas, extra dried parsley, garlic powder, salt and pepper and you have an easy, edible, quick take on a traditional favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SerenaBloom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
What a delicious recipe! I've only made falafel from a mix before, but I am a changed woman! I did have to add water to the mixture for it to hold together. Also, roll the balls (or patties) in flour before frying.. that way they won't fall apart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
Nice vegan recipe! Very tasty and my husband said it was the best falafel he'd ever tasted although I thought it tasted like regular falafel (which I love and is a compliment for a vegan recipe). The recipe says it serves 6 but for my family (myself, my husband and my three year old son) I had to double the recipe and had only 3 falafel balls left. When frying I had to dump the oil between the first and second batches because the falafel balls crumbled a bit in the oil. To solve this problem next time I think I'll put them in the oven which will cut alot of the fat too. I served them in a pita with tomatoes and tahini sauce with ketchup and had a side of roasted potatoes. Very yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I made a few changes, I didn't have cilantro and the only bread crumbs I had were seasoned and I also added about 1/4 cup water and one beaten egg. These came out great and I did not have the problem of them falling apart while frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pelham, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: New Ipswich, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
We followed the recipe pretty much exactly; we had just under the amount of chickpeas. We also pan fried them like burgers instead of deep fry. There was a little falling-apart-age, we added a little oil in the balls and less in the pan to help keep them together more. As far as taste goes, this was pretty good. Very cumin-y,and unlike any falafel I have had before. Will probably make it again with a few tweaks. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Juniper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
This recipe tastes great! But -like some-the bread crumbs from my falafel came out during thee frying process. I found that a great solution for this is to bake them in a 350 degree oven for about 7 minutes on each side or until golden brown. They stay together, taste even better than fried, and are far fewer in calories. However if you do this, its a good idea to swipe them with a tad of olive oil though its not really needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce

Simple and quick recipe to prepare that delivers lots of Mediterranean flavors.

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States