Jeanie's Falafel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Wish I had seen that last review before I made these! Used my deep fryer and not only did the balls disintegrate, they made the oil bubble up and overflow!!! Flattened a few balls into a patty and fried (not deep fried!) in a pan to get a crispy coat. Pretty tasty. Will add egg(s) as others suggested today and try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
mine totally fell apart in the oil. the tiny bit that did stick together I tried and it was tasty, however this recipe definetly needs a binding agent to be added. Also the recipe needs to include that the chickpeas need to be dried because the ones from the can give it a very wet structure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I mixed everything in my food processor, it turned out great. super easy. My husband ate it like it actually had meat in it. :) I made it once the way the recipe states and it was a crumbly mess in the pan. I made a second batch and added one egg. It made all the difference. it held together beautifully. I fried in a skillet with a little coconut oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
These were good but were missing something. I will definitely make them again, and not when I am in a rush! Maybe I forgot to add something! Instead of deep frying, I used a muffin tin and baked at 375 for maybe a half hour. I put a bit of oil in the bottom each cup to crisp them up. A little more oil than just a brush, but not too much. I put maybe a half inch in one cup by accident and the falafel disintegrated. My dinner guests enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HECTORBOYARDEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Fresh and so delicious! I always used the boxed falafel mix, but never again...this beats it hands down!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
These taste really great! I will definitely make them again. I made small patties and pan fried them. They do have some trouble sticking together. I added a bit of oil to the mix to help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Loved this but next time I will add a bit of egg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
these were yummy. I followed the recipe but used fresh parsley and coriander as i didnt have cilantro on hand. I also baked them instead, by spraying them lighlty with PAM-olive oil spray. Came out yummy although dont hold together too well. Next time I half the amount of breadcrumbs and might add some egg to help them stick togehter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
First time making falafel at home, this one hit the mark. My girlfriend and even our toddler loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Everyone in the family loved these. We usually buy the box mix and add water, but had trouble finding the mix at our local store, so I decided it was time to make homemade. This was easy and tasted very good. I did end up adding an egg, and some water, to make it come together better, but otherwise wouldn't change a thing. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jking

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States