Jeanie's Falafel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Very good in taste, but mine wouldn't stay together, and I didn't fry them . . .I used my slow cooker (seriously, it works). Still tasty, and worth making but I have to agree that it needs an egg. (I added water instead when it seemed crumbly bc I didn't want to add an egg, but that didn't work very well). how to make them okay for people who can't have eggs or are vegan or whatever, I can't say, but I'll try an egg next time. otherwise, very nice flavor and a good falafel. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Amazing falafel! Sometimes, if the mixture is not sticking very well, I just add a little bit of water. I also have used this same recipe and baked them in the oven at 350 for 10 minutes on both sides and it was fantastic. Just have to make the balls more as patties so they cook all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
The mix was easy to prepare, and I always appreciate eggless recipes. But unfortunately, they fell apart in the oil. I've tried this twice, and it happened both times. In reading the reviews, I'm clearly not the only one who had this problem. So, perhaps this is an issue that should be addressed somewhere in the instructions -- how do you prevent them from falling apart?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sns

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Love to surprise my family with "Josie's test kitchen" recipes. This was my first try making falafel's and they came out great. Pan fried in olive oil and had to add just a little water to hold them together. Served them in pitas with tzitki, lettuce & tomato. Thanks for a sucessful Josie's test kitchen meal the family really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosieLLL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Yum Yum Yum! These are wonderful especially if you use them in a sandwich. These are so good even my husband the meat eater likes them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDEGRAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Great, flavourful falafels! The only change I made was to fry them just for a minute on each side for colour and then baked them at 350 for 20 minutes. You could also just grease the pan for a lighter colour. I will do this next time and there will definately be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terraterre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sundre, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I made these exactly as directed, with one crucial tip between steps 1 and 2: Freeze the falafel balls before frying. Just a couple hours in the freezer, then just throw them in the oil, no defrosting necessary. This helps the balls to keep shape without disintegrating in the oil (I do the same with Chinese fried spring rolls!). I kept them in the oil, flipping once until just brown on the outside (about 2 minutes), then stuck in the oven at 150C for 15-20 minutes to heat them through. Nice and crunchy on the outside, soft and flavourful on the inside!! Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Sorry but authentic falafel doesn't used cooked garbanzo beans, certainly not canned cooked garbanzo beans. Use dry beans soaked in water for at least 12 hours. Don't cook them! They get cooked when you fry them. And why bother with the dried parsley? It has practically no flavor. Fresh parsley is the way to go here and use plenty. Using the dried, raw, soaked garbanzo beans will make this recipe almost useless because the quantities will be off. There are plenty of recipies that use dried garbanzos. I would eliminate/reduce the bread crumbs and add ground corriander seed. What this recipe produces may taste ok but it isn't authentic and it will have a very different texture from a properly made falafel ball. Youtube has a huge number of falafel recipes that show you step by step how to do it. Unfortunately even a few of those use canned, cooked garbanzos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
very tasty but i had to bake it coated in oil because when i tried to fry them they dissolve in the oil???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I followed this recipe because I had never made this on my own. It was delicious! As good as the first time I ever had it from a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States