Jeanie's Falafel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Very yummy. I did add 2 eggs to the mix to help it hold together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
The seasoning on this recipe is good, but I highly recommend using dry garbanzo beans, soaking them overnight, and then grinding them in a food processer. This makes the falafel more crunchy and textured instead of the mushy version that using canned garbanzo beans will produce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
FANTASTIC AND EASY...WHAT MORE COULD ONE ASK?? I used Trader Joe's Tahini, lettuce, and grated carrots on pita bread. OMG!!!! EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
These are very easy and quick to make. They even taste good without some of the ingredients (if your cupboards a little bare, like mine). Are a little soggy and dry when reheated though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This makes a great falafel. I added one egg and then added water as needed in order to make it stay together. If I had not added water it definitely would have fallen apart. Left out the cilantro and parsley. I recommend using a food processor to mash the beans and garlic, and then stir in the finely diced onion. My food processor completely pulverizes onion, so I just dice it and stir it into whatever I am making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Hadn't ever made falafels from scratch, and decided to use this recipe because it was egg-less. However, I did use corn meal in place of the bread crumbs as some other recipes do. The first couple did not hold together too great until I started really packing the balls firmly with a melon baller. Worked great! Will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
We did not like these at all. They are not what I recall eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handful

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I actually added one egg to keep it together. I used fresh parsley and added ground coriander seeds. I sauteed them to get a brown crust and then finished them in the oven at 350 degrees. Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erninu
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This was my first attempt at making falafel from scratch and it was okay. I think it is probably a great base recipe and I will try it again with seasoning adjustments as I found it a little bland. However, I did bake it instead of fry it and that may have given it less flavor. I added in a mix of 1T ground flax with 3T water as an egg replacer and it held together really well. Thank you for sharing this recipe. I will definitely give it another try one of these days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I was very lucky to fried the first 3 falafels to check how they were coming and I saw my falafels disappearing in front of my eyes... so you MUST add 2 small eggs or the falafels will disappear in the frying process... You also can reduce the salt using only 1/2 of teaspoon... However, the taste is SUPERIOR, the flavors are just perfect...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States