Jeanie's Falafel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Great recipe! I used a 15 oz can of garbanzo beans because that is all that I could find. I kept the spices pretty much the same, and used just a bit less onion and bread crumbs. I baked the falafel instead of frying. I just put olive oil on a pan, brushed the tops of the falafel with olive oil and baked at 375 for 12 minutes on each side. Came out delicious! I served them with pita, tzatziki sauce, onion, spinach, and tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
These tasted delicious, however, I had to add a little bit of flour to keep them from falling apart. Other than that, I made as stated. Would make again...with the addition of a little flour. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Nope. Didn't work. Too dry, and too much cumin. I added an egg and it still didn't help. Will try adding much less bread crumbs and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Excellent recipe for falafel. I have tried the dried mix a few times in the past. Disaster... never again. Nothing compares to fresh I have to admit I added an egg white to the mix and this made it a 4 star with fresh parsley. Second round I added a tsp of fresh lemon juice and halved the amount of homemade breadcrumbs. Great recipe. Served on a fresh naan with some parsley tomato cucumber mix and a yoghurt lemon dill dressing ... delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Very good! Add the egg, no problem with it falling apart. Served with tzaziki from the Greek Souvlaki recipe with some suggested modifications
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
They fell apart in the oil. I wish I had read the one star reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
OMG I made this tonight and it was so good! I pretty much stuck to the recipe with a few minor adjustments - I sautéed the onion, garlic and added jalapeno. I added 2 eggs to the mix. I baked them at 350 for about 8 mins on each side! Served them in pita pockets with hummus, tomatoes, cucumber, and carrot match sticks. SO GOOD! This is going to be a staple meal in my recipe box from now on :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Tasty, but fell apart and became mush
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Tasted great, but even adding water to get them to hold together didn't save my falafel - they fell apart in the deep fryer. We salvaged what we could and ate that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Excellent! I added lemon juice to moisten and instead of frying I lightly sautéed in a shallow pan with 2 tbsp oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce

Simple and quick recipe to prepare that delivers lots of Mediterranean flavors.

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States