Jeanie's Falafel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Excellent recipe for falafel. I have tried the dried mix a few times in the past. Disaster... never again. Nothing compares to fresh I have to admit I added an egg white to the mix and this made it a 4 star with fresh parsley. Second round I added a tsp of fresh lemon juice and halved the amount of homemade breadcrumbs. Great recipe. Served on a fresh naan with some parsley tomato cucumber mix and a yoghurt lemon dill dressing ... delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Very good! Add the egg, no problem with it falling apart. Served with tzaziki from the Greek Souvlaki recipe with some suggested modifications
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
They fell apart in the oil. I wish I had read the one star reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
OMG I made this tonight and it was so good! I pretty much stuck to the recipe with a few minor adjustments - I sautéed the onion, garlic and added jalapeno. I added 2 eggs to the mix. I baked them at 350 for about 8 mins on each side! Served them in pita pockets with hummus, tomatoes, cucumber, and carrot match sticks. SO GOOD! This is going to be a staple meal in my recipe box from now on :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Tasty, but fell apart and became mush
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Tasted great, but even adding water to get them to hold together didn't save my falafel - they fell apart in the deep fryer. We salvaged what we could and ate that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Excellent! I added lemon juice to moisten and instead of frying I lightly sautéed in a shallow pan with 2 tbsp oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I followed the recipe to a T, but when I tried to cook the falafel balls, they fell apart in the oil and turned to cooked crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
These were delectable. The only adjustment I made was to add an egg to hold it together, which was definitely necessary since I used beans I cooked from dry rather than canned. My only complaint is that the recipe doesn't make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I wish I would have read the reviews of this recipe before I tried it because I had the same problem as a lot of other people...the balls completely disintegrated in my deep fryer :( The mixture was really tasty and thankfully I had half the balls I made left and baked them in the oven...definitely needs eggs to keep it all together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States