Jazzy New Orleans Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Different taste than the usual. For New Orleans to be in the name I was expecting a bit more cajun spices. It was great but I did add some cajun spices into mine and I was generous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I was intrigued by the name (because I'm from New Orleans) but there is no heat in the dish. Easily added trust me! I swapped out the smoked sausage for Andouille and added cayenne pepper and the bottle of tabasco on the table. I thought the preparation was easy and the addition of the Allspice was a very nice touch. Other slight modifications I made were to nix the tomato (my partner doesn't like them) and used a green and red pepper instead of 2 reds. My daughter has already asked me to make it again this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This dish was pretty amazing! My sister and I made it for our boyfriends, who also really enjoyed it. We did make some variations to the original recipe. I used a can of tomatoes and added cayenne pepper, as a few of the other reviews mentioned. Instead of 2 bell peppers, I used one and then used a large jalepeno in place of the omitted one. I cubed the chicken up so that it would speed up the cooking process. Overall I would highly recommend this dish and would definitely make it again. It was spicy yet very flavorful and was a great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
My kids made this and it tasted awesome. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This was wonderful! A big hit for dinner! I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts and cut them into a little larger than bite-sized pieces. I also used one pound of turkey kielbasa. I did not add the rice to the pot, however, as my family prefers their rice separate. I had no problem with it thickening without the rice either and that was with using two cups of fat-free chicken broth. One can of diced tomatoes worked perfectly well as a substitute for the fresh tomatoes as mentioned by another reviewer. It was amazing! I couldn't get enough! Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkey, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dime2400
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Very tasty. My whole family loved even my little ones. My husband like a little spice so I added a little ground cayenne pepper to his plate. It was delicious, i will definately used this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dime2400

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
I thought this recipe was rather bland to be considered "New Orleans". I had to add cajun seasonings. I don't think I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
This is a nice change from the run of the mill chicken dishes. It is even better the next day. The only thing I had trouble with was that the peppers and tomatoes cooke up into nothing. But overall this was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2000
Very good! My husband & I loved it. I cubed the chicken instead and served it more as a stir-fry style. It works well with a can of diced tomatoes too - I tried that when I realized I had no fresh ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States