Jay's Signature Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Excellent. I used 1/2 C all purpose flour and 1 1/2 C whole wheat flour for the 2 1/2 C all purpose flour the recipe instructed to be mixed with the yeast/water/oil/salt. I used very little additional flour (maybe only another 1/4 to 1/3 C) during the kneading and rolling steps. This dough was so easy to mix and knead, I can't imagine why anyone would want to bother using a mixer. Following the instructions, I let it the dough stand about 15 minutes before I added the toppings. I baked it on a 10" x 15" cookie sheet in the middle of the oven. I did not have a problem with sogginess in the middle of the pizza like other reviewers. I don't usually like thick crust pizza because it is so heavy and overly filling, but this crust had a light texture inside and a nice crustiness outside. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Very good recipe. It's 5 stars if you add Italian seasoning, garlic powder, and a bit of Parmesan cheese to the crust. I pre-baked mine 10 minutes before I put on my toppings. Made a thick crust for my 15" pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Nice thick, chewy crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This is now our favorite pizza ever. We loved it more than take out pizza. The only thing I did different was added a little Italian Seasoning to the dough and cut about a 1/4 off of the main dough to make bread sticks. I baked in a very olive oiled 9x13 for 10 minutes with minced garlic and a little more Italian Seasoning. After that I added my sauce, cheese and mushrooms and a little more olive oil around the edges of crust and baked 15 more minutes. PERFECT!!! I think the minced garlic really gave it the perfect taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I have tried over ten pizza crust recipes in the past, and I can finally stop looking! Such a great base-recipe: delicious as is, and easy to add different herbs and flavors to it as well! Super easy, and results are fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I used a bread machine - it definitely needed a little more flour (at least 3 2/3 cups, maybe a full 4 cups). It was super sticky & hard to get out of the machine. I also used my regular pizza stone - which is not an extra large size so the crust was super thick & needed probably a good 10 min in the oven before putting the toppings on (it was still slightly raw when we ate it). I brushed the crust with some garlic butter & that made it crisp up nicely on the outside. I would definitely use this recipe again if I want a thick crust (my husband actually liked it a lot & he's more of a thin crust guy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartsellem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I've been searching for a dough recipe to match my Grandmother's. I top this pizza with 1 can stewed tomatoes, 8 basil leaves, 2 t. crushed oregano, and 3 T. brown sugar..all in food processor. I top the dough and sprinkle with a good parm. Just like Grandma's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
My son's girlfriend said, "Make this always." I've tried several pizza crusts; this one is the best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Rueckert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I actually used this dough to make a stromboli and it turned out delicious. I added a little garlic powder and oregano to the dough when I added oil and salt, I also had to use more flour than called for to make dough not sticky. I rubbed the top of the roll with olive oil and sprinkled garlic salt, parmesan, basil and oregano on top after about 20 min in the oven. I will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I really liked this recipe. My daughter likes a thicker crust and this was perfect. I followed recipe as written, but do to some negative reviews about the bland taste I added a half packet of Good Seasons ?dry Italian seasoning and some parsley for color. Since I modified the recipe I will not give it 5 stars. But with the modifications It would be 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wauseon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 2,944) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jay’s Signature Pizza Crust

You’re going to love this 5-star recipe for homemade pizza crust.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States