Jay's Signature Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
This is the best pizza crust I have found so far! chewy! Almost tastes like Papa John's crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This is so easy to make and work with. I baked it on a pizza stone in the BBQ and the crust came so crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
This really is a great crust. I have experimented by adding honey instead of brown sugar. Additionally, it works well with whole wheat flour, some corn meal, and a bit of semolina flour-- it will work on the texture. Therefore, you can work with whoever will be enjoying the pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This was my first pizza dough creation and it was ohhh so delicious. I will say that if you aren't baking on a pizza stone, DO grease your pan. We split the dough into two and made two smaller pizzas. Our kids put the topping they wanted on theirs and the adult one was loaded down with toppings. The kids pizza took 15 min to bake to a crispy bottom with a soft chewy crust and the adult pizza took the full 20 min to get done. This recipe was so easy and just perfect crust. I think we will be enjoying homemade pizza more often at this house! I wouldn't compare to any delivery chains crust. This had more of a higher taste quality. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Wright

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carl Junction, Missouri, USA
Living In: Jasper, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I made this last night and it turned out perfect- thank you Jay! I also pre-baked the crust for about 10 minutes at 325°. Just one question- for those of you who use the second half later, do you let the dough come to room temp again before baking? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
This is delicious and exactly as stated, crispy on the outside, tender on the inside. It didn't even need an hour to rise, I put it outside on my table, covered and with the warmth of the 1st day of summer, it was ready in 40 minutes. Very easy, although I used the dough hooks on my hand mixer to mix it altogether, just a little less messy. You can eat and eat this, you just enjoy it so much, no difficulty chewing whatsoever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
This was very good. It didn't blow my mind or anything but it was easy and tasted great as written. I followed the recipe exactly. I made a deep dish pizza in my cast iron skillet and had to bake it for 15 minutes. I like my pizza crust soft though so if you like a crunchy crust it probably could've gone a few minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I am a very experienced bread, roll, crust baker. This was excellent! I used my kitchen aide mixer and did add a little more flour than called for to get the right texture. I used olive oil to grease my bowl, and that does impart more flavor than sprays, and I prefer whole and healthy to convenient and processed. Mt pizza topping began with a pesto base,, also homemade, which added more delicious flavor to the crust. From experience, I sprinkled cornmeal onto my jellyroll baking sheet before pressing the dough into the pan. 18 minutes in the oven resulted in a crispy crust throughout the pizza, with ideal chewiness. Perhaps the differences are a result of smaller pans, or varying ovens. I baked this with my convection bake setting. This will return to my table frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Ward Briggs

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Delicious, it turns out perfect every time I make it! I agree, it's definitely best to brown it 7 or so minutes before putting on the toppings. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eschroeder817

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I don't know if I did something wrong but it came out a bit dry in some places and then hard in another place. A total bummer. Maybe pizza just isn't my thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RazzBaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 2,987) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jay’s Signature Pizza Crust

You’re going to love this 5-star recipe for homemade pizza crust.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States