Jay's Signature Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
THIS is my go-to pizza crust! I've tried different variations on the main theme: Beer instead of water -- nice flavor Spiced Olive Oil (Roasted Garlic with Rosemary is great) Ground Black Peppercorns, Basil, and Oregano These will enhance a nice deep-dish pizza! Thanks, Jay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
The pizza dough came out great. However, I just don't think it's worth the amount of time and effort needed to create the perfect dough. It tasted just like any pizza dough I get from a bakery or grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This has become my go-to pizza crust. I've been making it for quite some time (we make our pizza at home, since we're on a tight budget). I've occasionally strayed and tried other pizza crust recipes, but I always come back to Jay's! Most recently, I used 1 tbsp. of brown sugar instead of the 1/2 tsp. the recipe calls for. Wow!! This made an even chewier-on-the-inside, crisp-on-the-outside crust, so I'll use this tweak from now on. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookTo$ave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Turned out too dry and crusty. I pre-baked for ten minutes as someone suggested, and I put it on the bottom rack as someone else suggested. Next time I will just follow the recipe. 3 stars for now. I'll update if it turns out better next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This is the only pizza crust recipe I use. I took the advise of another reviewer to include some garlic and onion powders and WOW, it is almost like P___a H_t. : ) Any left over dough I roll into a teeny loaf and bake as a breadstick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Very easy. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LibertyBelle78
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This was my first from scratch attempt at pizza crust, and it was fabulous! I learned from reading reviews how I could make the dough in my stand mixer, then I added a little garlic and some Italian spice to the dough. I don't have a pizza stone, so I preheated my USA Pan and put the dough on that once the oven was hot. I baked the dough alone for ten minutes, then removed it to brush on olive oil with garlic powder. After that I added my toppings and baked for ten minutes more. I always thought of homemade pizza as being an absolute last resort, an opinion probably shaped by those familiar pizza kits I had as a kid, the ones with the envelope of powdered cheese. This has made homemade as good - or better - than restaurant pizza. And it was so simple! Thanks for sharing your recipe, Jay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
OMG have not made this in forever. It rose for about 3 hours, baked it before for about 10 min then used mushrooms, yellow peppers and onions and OMG I ate the whole thing, well with the help of my dog Taylor... Wonderful tender in the middle and crunchy on the outside. I loved this sooo much!!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRICKS2721
Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Great recipe! Will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Absolutely fool proof! Every time I make this everyone gobbles it up... crust and all : ) The only reason it wouldn't work is is your flour or yeast isn't fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,973) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jay’s Signature Pizza Crust

You’re going to love this 5-star recipe for homemade pizza crust.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States