Jay's Signature Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Excellent crust! Nice pizzeria texture when cooked on a pizza stone. I use part all purpose flour and part bread flour. I make the dough in the bread machine and store it in the refrigerator for a day or two (or 5) before bringing to room temperature and making the pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I made this two nights in a row. The first night I used my kitchen aid dough kneader and it turned out "ok". The second night I followed the video and directions exactly and I loved the result! One change- I used about 1/3 c whole wheat flour. Next time I will increase the ww flour ratio. I also learned how to use a pizza stone - it is important to heat the stone for 10 min at a preheated temp of about 400, and also to generously flour the stone before putting the dough on. This made it exceptional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I have made this recipe several times. Just getting around to writing my review. I did use my bread machine on the dough setting. I did bake the pizza on a pizza stone. The crust was crunchy on the bottom and chewy inside. Thanks for sharing your recipe Jason Sharp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Good crust if you're in a mood for typical American bread like thick crust. May not be the one if you're looking for a thin crust for pizza Margarita etc..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This crust was so much better than the last one we tried (which had equally good ratings), so maybe pizza crust is just really subjective. Using the amount of flour given, the dough is so sticky as to be nearly impossible to handle. I had to keep adding more and more flour, and am guessing I used between four and five cups total. Once the crust was at the "not sticky" point, the texture was perfect though. Because so much flour was needed, we ended up with a really thick crust, like Sicilian. I should have saved or discarded a bit, not gone ahead and used it all. The edges didn't get as brown as I'd have liked, but the crust was fluffy and light. It's not the most flavorful, but the crust doesn't doesn't compete with the sauce and toppings. My husband and kids devoured the pizza, even my kid that doesn't care much for pizza, so this will be our recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Don
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Added minced garlic and a bit more brown sugar...out standing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This recipe is amazing! It's quick, easy, and you always have these ingredients on hand.like to add some oregano/Italian spices in to give it a little extra seasoning. All in all, my go to recipe for flatbreads, pizza, and breadsticks :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Just WOW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
OMG!!! so yummy! my bf and I made this crust for bbq chicken pizza, and let me tell you this crust was amazing. so moist in the inside yet crunchy on the outside. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out great. We are definitely going to make this crust again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Thanks to this recipe, my family started the tradition of making pizza from scratch every Friday. My kids look forward to pizza Friday every week. After making this recipe at least once a week for over 2 years, the only thing I do differently is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 11-20 (of 2,964) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Jay’s Signature Pizza Crust

You’re going to love this 5-star recipe for homemade pizza crust.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States