Jay's Signature Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
My family of 4 adults has been making this crust for our weekly pizza Friday, which is really a giant adult pizza party. ONE batch of this pizza crust makes enough so that the 4 of us (2 gents + 2 ladies) can have our own pizza with our favorite toppings. It is delicious, makes us all feel like we are cheating on our diets, and is amazing thin or thick! Delicious with a little salt on the crust and is super easy to make!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ally_hindal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Best pizza crust I ever made! I made the recipe exactly as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittanne
Photo by moonbaby
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Love this pizza crust! Doubled the recipe and had enough for 2 thick 16" pans and 1 9x13 deep dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Excellent. I used 1/2 C all purpose flour and 1 1/2 C whole wheat flour for the 2 1/2 C all purpose flour the recipe instructed to be mixed with the yeast/water/oil/salt. I used very little additional flour (maybe only another 1/4 to 1/3 C) during the kneading and rolling steps. This dough was so easy to mix and knead, I can't imagine why anyone would want to bother using a mixer. Following the instructions, I let it the dough stand about 15 minutes before I added the toppings. I baked it on a 10" x 15" cookie sheet in the middle of the oven. I did not have a problem with sogginess in the middle of the pizza like other reviewers. I don't usually like thick crust pizza because it is so heavy and overly filling, but this crust had a light texture inside and a nice crustiness outside. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Very good recipe. It's 5 stars if you add Italian seasoning, garlic powder, and a bit of Parmesan cheese to the crust. I pre-baked mine 10 minutes before I put on my toppings. Made a thick crust for my 15" pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Nice thick, chewy crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This is now our favorite pizza ever. We loved it more than take out pizza. The only thing I did different was added a little Italian Seasoning to the dough and cut about a 1/4 off of the main dough to make bread sticks. I baked in a very olive oiled 9x13 for 10 minutes with minced garlic and a little more Italian Seasoning. After that I added my sauce, cheese and mushrooms and a little more olive oil around the edges of crust and baked 15 more minutes. PERFECT!!! I think the minced garlic really gave it the perfect taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I have tried over ten pizza crust recipes in the past, and I can finally stop looking! Such a great base-recipe: delicious as is, and easy to add different herbs and flavors to it as well! Super easy, and results are fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I used a bread machine - it definitely needed a little more flour (at least 3 2/3 cups, maybe a full 4 cups). It was super sticky & hard to get out of the machine. I also used my regular pizza stone - which is not an extra large size so the crust was super thick & needed probably a good 10 min in the oven before putting the toppings on (it was still slightly raw when we ate it). I brushed the crust with some garlic butter & that made it crisp up nicely on the outside. I would definitely use this recipe again if I want a thick crust (my husband actually liked it a lot & he's more of a thin crust guy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartsellem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I've been searching for a dough recipe to match my Grandmother's. I top this pizza with 1 can stewed tomatoes, 8 basil leaves, 2 t. crushed oregano, and 3 T. brown sugar..all in food processor. I top the dough and sprinkle with a good parm. Just like Grandma's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 2,987) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jay’s Signature Pizza Crust

You’re going to love this 5-star recipe for homemade pizza crust.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States