Jay's Signature Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I make this whenever I make pizza and it is my family's favorite pizza crust recipe. I do a few things differently though which makes it a lot better. 1. I brush olive oil on the crust which makes it crispier and a lot better 2. I add about 1 cup of extra flour when making otherwise it is way too sticky to the point I can't use it. Other then that I follow this recipe exactly and it is great. I just wish it was crispier and had more taste. I will take other reviewer's advice and prebake the dough before adding topping for 10 minutes and then put the toppings on and bake it some more the next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
This was very good. I did add Italian Seasoning and garlic powder but, followed everything else. This is a keeper and will have to question myself if I ever grab a frozen pizza again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackbeltman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
What a perfect pizza crust! I read so many reviews and also did decide to add some Italian seasonings and a bit of garlic powder. Used my Kitchen aid, so easy and quick. Placed my dough onto a pizza stone (unheated) and baked the pizza for about 35 mins. Crust puffed up nicely, it was crispy on the outside and nice and moist on the inside. I will never buy pizza dough from the store again! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quesnel, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Perfect! I've made this crust about 5 times now and my husband begs for it...I'm fond of it too. I always add garlic powder & onion powder for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PatriciaG
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Great crust recipe - I would give it 5 stars but I made some modifications which in my opinion make it better. I add an extra tbsp of olive oil and an extra 1/2 tsp of salt. The second time I made this recipe was when I realised my mistake the first time, which is you really have to knead that dough for about 10 minutes! It really makes the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PatriciaG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I love this recipe! I typically divide the dough to make 4 smaller pizzas so everyone can have exactly the toppings they like. And I will double the recipe and freeze half. That way I am able to just defrost and let rise for pizza the next time I want to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Yep. I'm a fan! And I was skeptical at first. This recipe is very similar to my former favorite pizza dough recipe. In our house, we have Friday Night Pizza and a Movie Night and we make homemade pizza. We've been doing this for about 5yrs now!! Lots of pizza!! I already had my old recipe memorized and we liked it - but after reading all the raves, I gave this one a try! Glad I did!! Crispy outside, tender inside. Its delicious. I add garlic powder for additional flavor. This recipe doubles well. I use my KitchenAid for the mixing and kneading with the dough hook, but give it a final knead by hand. It practically makes itself that way! Also, I preheat the oven to at least 500deg with my pizza stones on the lowest rack. Transfer your pizza with the toppings on to the preheated stone. In the summer, we like to grill our pizza with fresh veggies and a sprinkling of cheese! Don't forget the cornmeal for ease of sliding the crust around and for extra crunch on the bottom (no flour).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Loved it .can't believe I made a pizza from scratch.will definitely make it again.d crust was simply amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Loved it! I did do as suggested and added 1 tsp of salt and an additional 1/2 tsp of brown sugar bringing that to 1 tsp. I used my kitchenaid mixer with a dough hook and went ahead and added 3 cups of flour to start...then added until it became thick enough to move to a floured board and that was maybe an additional 1/2 to 3/4 cup of flour? I only moved to the board the dough to the board so that I could oil the mixer bowl and put the dough back in. (no need in making two bowls dirty)...I used the quick rise yeast and I think 30 minutes was all it took to double. The crust was soft and yet had a crunchy texture. My husband definitely agreed in using this recipe again! Thanks so much for sharing! It was definitely easy to make! :) Update: 6/7/14 I used this exact recipe to make the bread for Bierocks. Perfect! The bread was perfect for this recipe and so quick to make! I cut it into 12 pieces and rolled them out like mini pizzas to put the filling in...then put in oven at 425 for 10 minutes. Can't say enough good things about it! Will keep this as my go to recipe for that too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Milligan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uccle, Brussels, Belgium
Living In: Derby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I think all the good reviews are for it being crusty on the outside and chewy on the inside, but this recipe produces a very bland and tasteless crust. I added some garlic powder and pizza herbs/seasoning because that's what I usually do when I make pizza dough. I used this recipe earlier today because I couldn't find where I put my recipe book for the pizza dough recipe I usually use. I found it after the pizza was out of the oven! It's the same as this recipe except that it requires 2 tsp salt, 1 tsp sugar, and 3.5 cups bread flour which makes the crust tasty. Bad choice - I should have just looked for my book and made that in the first place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 2,945) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jay’s Signature Pizza Crust

You’re going to love this 5-star recipe for homemade pizza crust.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States