Jay's Jerk Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
We visit Jamaica once a year, but that isn't enough to get our fill of the awesome jerk chicken we eat in Negril. I found this recipe and decided to try it based on the reviews. I used Habenero pepper instead of the jalapeno, dried Thyme instead of fresh (1/2 recipe calls for since it was dry), added about six cloves of garlic, and one kiwi. It is very much like the chicken at DeBuss in Negril, but not as spicy. We then used the leftover mix (you'll have tons leftover you can freeze for later) on some Halibut that remained frozen, then defrosted for three days in the fridge. The flavor was very different on the Halibut; not nearly as spicy and more of an Oriental flavor (probably the soy sauce really sinking in the fish), but yummy still -just in a different way. This is a very easy rub to prepare, and it worked great under the broiler and on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
I cannot reiterate enough. This is the most delicious chicken I have ever tasted. If you use habanero peppers instead of jalapeños, it's ridiculously hot. What I do is I cook it in the Oven On broil on HI heat. Turning each chicken when done on one side and consistently keep the sauce on top of the chicken. Then I cook brown rice, and use the left over sauce on the rice. IT IS AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nafeasonto

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
Wow!! Awesome! If I could only quote my husband and my guests...."unbelievable", "awesome", "sooo tender", "great kick to it", etc. I marinated boneless breasts for about 6 hours. I did make a couple of changes...added 3 cloves crushed garlic, two or three tablespoons lemon juice, a good dash of black pepper, used dried thyme, and reduced to 3 green onions. I used Wildtree Herb's* Roasted Garlic Grapeseed Oil instead of Veg. Oil. Next time, I'll add more jalepenos I think. I can't wait to make it again! *I'm a big fan of Wildtree Herbs' products...no preservatives, MSG or questionable ingredients. I don't know where they're available around the country, but their website is www.wildtreeherbs.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DManfredi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2000
This was a delicous recipe. I've been to Jamaica and the flavors of this recipe took me back. I used a Jalapeno pepper and the chicken was not too spicy. For those of you that love heat, you may want to go with a Habenoro pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
Very nice recipe, that I've made twice now. I did omit the green onion the second time as I found the recipe a bit strong in the onion flavor, but I did add several cloves of garlic! Really excellent. After removing the chicken from the marinade, I brought the remaining marinade to a slow boil on the stove top and then spooned it over basmati rice and served it all with grilled zucchini! Really fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
This was ok but not great. I will admit though that it may be my fault that this didn't taste to my liking as I let the chicken marinate 2 days. All I could taste was soy sauce and green onions. My husband liked it. We don't have a grill so I baked it in the oven. I'll try this again but not marinate for so long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
Very good! As previously suggested, I brought some of the marinade to a slow boil and served the marinade over rice. Along with mango salsa, it created a great summer menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
Considering thhe time spent making the marinade, I found the end result sort of mediorce. Sorry, but we probably won't be making this one again anytime soon. All you could really taste was the soy sauce and it overwhelmed everything else. Jazzy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
This recipe is excellent! The marinade gave the chicken a really great flavor and color. Will definately be making this alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
This was a great recipe! Those looking for more 'kick' should substitute a habanero pepper for the jalapeno.....and then watch out! I also added a couple cloves of minced garlic, and sliced the chicken into strips to serve over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 473) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Chef John's Jerk Chicken Wings

Caramelized chicken wings marinated in spicy Jamaican jerk seasonings.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States