Jay's Jerk Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was just okay. I marinated overnight and there was too much soy sauce flavor. I did not get any jerk flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Omit the soy and use white wine or Bragg's amino acids. Omit green onions as white or yellow onions are quite enough. Add scotch bonnet peppers versus the jalapenos as they are not authentic to jerk chicken. Remove the seeds the peppers of you do not like it so hot. Add ginger and this recipe is complete!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This did not taste like authentic carribean jerk, it tasted more like the not so tasty botttled stuff they sell at the grocery store. I'm a pretty good cook, i gasped when i saw the amount of soy sauce it called for but didn't trust my gut. Not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly and I didn't find it to be anything special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Excellent dish it was fast prep time and very flavorable. Just change the peppers I used from the supper hot to the california peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I prepared this dish for my husband who loves Jamaican Jerk Chicken. It did not come out so great. I fare pretty well in the kitchen but this was NOTHING like what we experience when we visited Jamaica. The marinade was not hot and spicy and soooo WET! After marinating for 2 FULL days it had a mild kick. I did use Jalapeno peppers (with seeds, understanding that is where the heat is). This dish did NOT come out as expected. I was disappointed! I don't think I'll be trying this recipe again BUT if I do I'll try the habanero peppers and maybe reduce some of the liquids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BSpratt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This was made for my son's Jamaican themed 14th birthday party. I don't know how traditional this recipe is, but it made some darn fine chicken. We used all the chicken parts instead of just boneless breasts. I think the boneless breasts would be way too mushy and salty if left overnight in the marinade. My personal preference would be for more spice, but the onion flavor was perfect. We had a bunch left over, because we always make too much food at parties. It freezes extremely well and we had it again for dinner a week later. Reheated very easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This is a great recipe....blows my old recipe out of the water. I actually keep the seeds in and use a couple jalapenos for more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I loved this! I used pork instead of chicken and added a couple minced garlic cloves. I found it a little salty so will use reduced sodium soy sauce the next time, but otherwise this was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This recipe was really good. My kids complained it was too spicy for them. But my husband and I enjoyed the heat. I did use a medium jalapeno and left the seeds in. I followed other peoples suggestion to boil the marinade down until it was thicker and used this to pour over the rice, pineapple, and black beans I had made as a side. I then cut the chicken up into bite sized pieces and place that on top of the rice mixture. The pineapple worked wonderfully to counter the spiciness of the sauce. I cooked our chicken on a George Foreman grill but I think it would be better on a regular grill to get that smokey flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 473) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Chef John's Jerk Chicken Wings

Caramelized chicken wings marinated in spicy Jamaican jerk seasonings.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States