Jay's Jerk Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I perused a lot of jerk chicken recipes before deciding to go with this one & I made the right choice!!! This has been absolutely outstanding & it is my go-to jerk marinade recipe--I've already shared it with several other cook-friends of mine. The few times that my chicken didn't come out so well were soley my fault. Now, I believe I have it down to a science: (1) I marinate for at least 5 days; (2) I ALWAYS use chicken thighs (you can't beat the juiciness and flavor on the grill & trust me, I'm a chicken breast guy (btw, I know thigh-leg quarters are traditional, but I don't like the sinewiness of drumsticks); (3) if you can take the heat, always use something hotter than jalapenos such as habaneros, which gives you something closer to the authentic scotch bonnet flavor (besides, the heat always dissipates over time, so don't be shocked that the chicken is much milder the next day or afterwards. There are several peppers hotter than jalapenos [serranos, manzanos, etc.], and I encourage you to experiment with several to find the flavor you want); (4) sear the chicken directly over the heat source for 2-3 minutes each side (again, use thighs for max flavor), then move to the "cool" side of the grill for the next 45-50 minutes, cooking with the lid down. The end result is a chicken thigh that is cooked thoroughly through without having burned the exterior and the jerk flavor that we all love is penetrated all the way to the bone. Absolutely delicious!!! Thanks, Jay!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
really nice flavour. i think next time i will double the spices and use a habanero.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyn Dumont

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Found the flavour a bit weird for a jerk chicken. Tasted nice, but not traditional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
To make it really amazing use pimento wood in your grill - smoke flavor is the key. Easy to find on line just google pimento wood
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
If you like it really spicy, use the habañero. One jalapeño was pretty mild. I marinated it 24hrs and it was juicy-tasty on skeewers with Jamaican rice and grilled veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This sauce is to die for! I left the seeds in the jalapeno pepper, and used extra-firm tofu in place of chicken (to make it vegetarian) and it was absolutely delicious. I marinated it overnight and it was spicy and flavorful -- better than the jerk tofu at our local Caribbean place. Served with Caribbean spinach soup (from this site)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Thanks Jay you dont know me but my son loves spicy food so i used your recipe for his birthday dinner i did one change and add crush red pepper it turn out get it turn the heat up to 200 degrees I also let it sit overnight but b careful he got a nose bleed from the heat and he love to just eat hot peppers .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom's Cooking
Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Becki67
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This was spectacular! Easy to make and full of flavor, but not too spicy. I did add a little crushed garlic to the marinade, and I boiled down the leftover marinade to use to baste the chicken while it grilled, which I highly recommend. The chicken came out juicy and delicious, every bit as good as any jerk chicken I've had in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This is probably the best marinade I have ever made. So so so good! I did what others suggested by adding 2 cloves of garlic and one extra jalapeno for hotness. We used it with chicken and grilled it. Then added sauteed mushrooms and jalapenos with melted pepperjack cheese on top. Oh my yumminess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Ok I used this recipe b'cuz I'm currently pregnant and have a huge craving for jerk chicken and since the local negril restaurant closed I had to make my own. This recipe had lots of reviews and I thought I should try it out it was good but not the jerk chicken I was looking for. *Sigh looks like I gotta search google for an authentic Jamaican cuisine lol gotta fulfill my craving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 21-30 (of 477) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Chef John's Jerk Chicken Wings

Caramelized chicken wings marinated in spicy Jamaican jerk seasonings.

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States