Jay's Jerk Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Outstanding flavor! I let the chicken sit in the marinade for approximately 7 hours and wow, it was packed with flavor. My kids said best chicken they ever had…highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
This marinade is right on the money, but because I like my jerk spicy, I used 2 Habaneros instead of the one jalapeno. Don't forget to use gloves when mincing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This was excellent! I made it exactly as written and the flavor was wonderfull. I does deserve 5 stars but next time I think I will use a scotch bonnet pepper for a bit more heat. Try it....you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy L. Hamilton

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Made this recipe for my moms carribbean themed birthday party. I change the servings from 4 to 40 I think it was a bit off it called for what seemed to me too much green and white onion so I added to my liking. Everything else I followed to the T except I didn't remove the seeds from my chili (we like our food spicy) I let the chicken marinade over night and BBQ it early morning. The party wasn't till 7:00 in the evening so the chicken was made 12 hours ahead of time. I put the chicken in a chafing dish and it warmed up nicely. Everyone absolutely loved it!!! I got so many compliments! I'm making it again tomorrow night, can't wait to eat it right off the grill I bet it will be so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This. is. phenomenal! I'm getting ready to throw a "Caribbean themed" birthday party and needed a chicken recipe for a crowd. We ran a test run of this recipe tonight to see how it tasted. My experience with my husband's grilling "technique" of boneless skinless breasts is that we get sawdust breasts. We went with bone in, skin on thighs to start just to see what the flavor would be. The grilling presents a problem because the skins start fires. To avoid fires, we marinated the thighs from morning until night and did not change the marinade at all, perfect as is. We removed the chicken from the marinade and baked the thighs at 400 degrees for 25 minutes on one side, turning halfway to 20 minutes on the other side. Meanwhile, we reduced the remaining marinade in a sauce pan to use as a mop when the chicken was being grilled for caramelizing and grill marks. The grill was pre-heated to 300F. We took the cooked thighs from the oven and placed them on the grill, skin side down first and mopped them with the reduced marinade and grilled for 5-7 minutes, then flipped them, mopped again and grilled for another 5-7 minutes just to get a good caramelizing on the outside for a total of about 14-15 minutes. We poured some of the reduced marinade over the finished product for moisture (just in case). This produced a very moist, tender, FLAVORFUL chicken thigh. We are going to do breasts and thighs for the party, this was PERFECT. Not too hot, or sweet, just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I read the reviews on this before this started. I still went by the recipe and loved it!! No, I've never been to Jamaica and couldn't speak intelligently on what they do there when they cook. However, if I changed the recipe on my own and then judged, I certainly wouldn't leave a comment on that. The recipe is great!! Whether it's true Jamaicain or not, I don't give a flyin happy rat's a... patootie. Really? No, I judge on the recipe presented. And Kibada22, it freakin rocks!! Way to go!! Me and my family loved it!! Disregard the comments of the dopes who think they know how to improve and then judge you on their mistakes. That boggles my mind how people could be so rude. From my point of view, you nailed it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Excellent marinade! I will double the marinade next time so I can reserve some to heat on the stove top and pour over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I didn't have alot of soy sauce so I had to top it up with worcestershire and I didn't have any spring onions either but this recipe turned out great and we'll definitely have it again. A nice alternative to the many sweet chicken recipes with honey and the like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucille
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Instead of jalapeños, I used ghost peppers, the store was out of habanero. It was spicy but I like it spicy. I used the extra marinade as a sauce. Without the extra sauce, it just tasted like bland chicken. I also used chicken thigh versus chicken breast. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Delicious and easy to make. If you haven't tried this then do!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Chef John's Jerk Chicken Wings

Caramelized chicken wings marinated in spicy Jamaican jerk seasonings.

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States