Jay's Jerk Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I didn't have alot of soy sauce so I had to top it up with worcestershire and I didn't have any spring onions either but this recipe turned out great and we'll definitely have it again. A nice alternative to the many sweet chicken recipes with honey and the like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucille
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Instead of jalapeños, I used ghost peppers, the store was out of habanero. It was spicy but I like it spicy. I used the extra marinade as a sauce. Without the extra sauce, it just tasted like bland chicken. I also used chicken thigh versus chicken breast. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Delicious and easy to make. If you haven't tried this then do!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This was the best jerk chicken I've ever made. I added 3 garlic cloves, 1/2 cup of pineapple orange juice and used 1/2 of a ghost pepper since that's all I had. It was so tender and juicy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I perused a lot of jerk chicken recipes before deciding to go with this one & I made the right choice!!! This has been absolutely outstanding & it is my go-to jerk marinade recipe--I've already shared it with several other cook-friends of mine. The few times that my chicken didn't come out so well were soley my fault. Now, I believe I have it down to a science: (1) I marinate for at least 5 days; (2) I ALWAYS use chicken thighs (you can't beat the juiciness and flavor on the grill & trust me, I'm a chicken breast guy (btw, I know thigh-leg quarters are traditional, but I don't like the sinewiness of drumsticks); (3) if you can take the heat, always use something hotter than jalapenos such as habaneros, which gives you something closer to the authentic scotch bonnet flavor (besides, the heat always dissipates over time, so don't be shocked that the chicken is much milder the next day or afterwards. There are several peppers hotter than jalapenos [serranos, manzanos, etc.], and I encourage you to experiment with several to find the flavor you want); (4) sear the chicken directly over the heat source for 2-3 minutes each side (again, use thighs for max flavor), then move to the "cool" side of the grill for the next 45-50 minutes, cooking with the lid down. The end result is a chicken thigh that is cooked thoroughly through without having burned the exterior and the jerk flavor that we all love is penetrated all the way to the bone. Absolutely delicious!!! Thanks, Jay!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
really nice flavour. i think next time i will double the spices and use a habanero.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyn D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Found the flavour a bit weird for a jerk chicken. Tasted nice, but not traditional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
To make it really amazing use pimento wood in your grill - smoke flavor is the key. Easy to find on line just google pimento wood
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
If you like it really spicy, use the habañero. One jalapeño was pretty mild. I marinated it 24hrs and it was juicy-tasty on skeewers with Jamaican rice and grilled veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This sauce is to die for! I left the seeds in the jalapeno pepper, and used extra-firm tofu in place of chicken (to make it vegetarian) and it was absolutely delicious. I marinated it overnight and it was spicy and flavorful -- better than the jerk tofu at our local Caribbean place. Served with Caribbean spinach soup (from this site)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 471) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Chef John's Jerk Chicken Wings

Caramelized chicken wings marinated in spicy Jamaican jerk seasonings.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States