Jay's Jerk Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Great, this chicken was full of flavour! I cut in half for just the 2 of us, but still added a full jalapeno. Kept all else as called for and marinaded for probably 6 hours or so. This was definitley not spicy at all (despite doubling the jalapeno), but had super flavour...savoury/sweet, very yummy! Might try adding some habanero next time as I have them growing in my garden, we love spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Really great flavor & not spicey at all! Makes a TON of marinade though, so plan to share with a friend or freeze some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: South Haven, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Wow, I'm not much of a chicken fan, but I must say this is one of my favorite chicken dishes now! There are two things I changed, instead of veggie oil, I used Extra virgin olive oil, and I thought it needed a bit more heat...I like things a little more spicy, so I will try leaving the ribs on the jalapeno next time I make this dish. Thank you so much for sharing! Oh and the longer you marinade, the more flavorful...the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy bakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This was realy yummy! We used beef round steaks and marrinaded over night and it was DELISH! Just a tad bit spicy but not too spicy! Would be awesome with the chicken too! Deffinatly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFERKATIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This was allright. It certainly makes for a quick meal. Another plus? You don't need to heat up your oven to make this, which is a good thing since my A/C is broke and won't be repaired until tomorrow at the earliest!!! As KIBADA22 suggested, I added several cloves of minced garlic and one kiwi (peeled & sliced) to my marinade. I also subbed two small (seeded) habanero pepeprs for the jalapeno called for. These modifications were CRITICAL to the overall outcome, especially my decision to substitute habaneros for a jalapeno (IMHO). My only real complaint was that my chicken breasts were a tad dry. I see (from the pictures posted) that many reviewers used chicken parts. That may produce moister chicken, so I'd definitely recommend that to anyone concerned about this being an issue. Served with a side of Goya yellow rice (to which I added a can of rinsed / drained black beans) and grilled pineapple, this was a decent meal. I think I might like this better as a sandwich and will prepare it that way if I ever make this again (slathered with cajun mayo and topped with a grilled pineaplle ring!). Sweet potato chips would be the pefect accompainment! Thanks for sharing! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
My husband couldn't stop raving about this. Said he would eat it every day for the rest of his life! Used jalapenos from my backyard garden too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I made this for a pirate-themed party and it was a big hit. I modified the recipe for 30 people, so I changed the amount of jalapeno peppers and added 2 banana peppers. I marinated boneless, skinless chicken breasts cut into the size of chicken strips. They were marinated for 20 hours. Some guests thought it was beef because of the color the soy sauce gave. Also, I am not a chicken eater, but it was the most tender and flavorful chicken I have ever eaten. I read somewhere in these reviews that we can freeze the marinade - I will do that and serve this chicken dish again and again! Thanks KIBADA22 for making me look good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Pretty good. I've never had jerk chicken and this was a pleasant intro (if its even authentic...lol). I wish I wouldn't have moved my chicken so much because some of the marinade chunks fell off and I think that would have made it better. Next time i'll try habanero because even using 2 full jalapenos we didnt' really get much heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Idyllwild, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This served as a really good base recipe. I added some left over slices of yellow onion I had on hand, and reduced the green onions to only 1 large one I had. I also added about 2 cloves of garlic and some grated ginger. After tasting I thought it needed more sweetness so I added an additional teaspoon or so of brown sugar, and it was not spicy enough so I added some chili paste. After it came off of the grill I sprinkled it with some chopped cilantro from the garden and I served it with a rice pilaf that had some cilantro and a similar spice profile to the ones in the chicken. Great inspiration, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riggins, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I haven't tried this yet but am planning on it tonight. I rated 5 stars cuz the ingredients look wonderful. It smelled awesome when I threw it together as well. I have 2 cornish game hens marinating in it right now and plan on cooking them in my rotissere rather than on my grill. I'll update everyone when I find out how they work cooked that way. Wish me luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portage, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Randolph, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 473) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Chef John's Jerk Chicken Wings

Caramelized chicken wings marinated in spicy Jamaican jerk seasonings.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States