Jay's Jerk Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
We just came back from Jamaica and this is still one of my favorite jerk chickens!! I did use reduced sodium soy sauce and a large shallot for the onion =) Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This was a great recipe and I will definitely make it again. I used only the green onion and the flavour was outstanding. Next time I make it, I will include some of the jalapeno seeds to spice it up a bit more. I can't take the heat of a scotch bonnet as some have recommended. I don't usually rate recipes, especially if I don't follow them exactly, but this one was totally worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Can't get enough of this fantastic marinade. As another reviewer suggested, I add a kiwi when I blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Make it per the recipe except I used chicken leg and thigh quarters. Delicious to me and five star. My family liked it too but not as much as me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I marinated this overnight and broiled it 10 minutes per side instead of grilling. I really don't mind the marinate but this definitely is not the typical jerk taste. The seasonings reminded me of adobo. I would definitely use a dry rub if you wanted a more authentic taste of jerk chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Outstanding flavor! I let the chicken sit in the marinade for approximately 7 hours and wow, it was packed with flavor. My kids said best chicken they ever had…highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
This marinade is right on the money, but because I like my jerk spicy, I used 2 Habaneros instead of the one jalapeno. Don't forget to use gloves when mincing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This was excellent! I made it exactly as written and the flavor was wonderfull. I does deserve 5 stars but next time I think I will use a scotch bonnet pepper for a bit more heat. Try it....you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by winelady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Made this recipe for my moms carribbean themed birthday party. I change the servings from 4 to 40 I think it was a bit off it called for what seemed to me too much green and white onion so I added to my liking. Everything else I followed to the T except I didn't remove the seeds from my chili (we like our food spicy) I let the chicken marinade over night and BBQ it early morning. The party wasn't till 7:00 in the evening so the chicken was made 12 hours ahead of time. I put the chicken in a chafing dish and it warmed up nicely. Everyone absolutely loved it!!! I got so many compliments! I'm making it again tomorrow night, can't wait to eat it right off the grill I bet it will be so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This. is. phenomenal! I'm getting ready to throw a "Caribbean themed" birthday party and needed a chicken recipe for a crowd. We ran a test run of this recipe tonight to see how it tasted. My experience with my husband's grilling "technique" of boneless skinless breasts is that we get sawdust breasts. We went with bone in, skin on thighs to start just to see what the flavor would be. The grilling presents a problem because the skins start fires. To avoid fires, we marinated the thighs from morning until night and did not change the marinade at all, perfect as is. We removed the chicken from the marinade and baked the thighs at 400 degrees for 25 minutes on one side, turning halfway to 20 minutes on the other side. Meanwhile, we reduced the remaining marinade in a sauce pan to use as a mop when the chicken was being grilled for caramelizing and grill marks. The grill was pre-heated to 300F. We took the cooked thighs from the oven and placed them on the grill, skin side down first and mopped them with the reduced marinade and grilled for 5-7 minutes, then flipped them, mopped again and grilled for another 5-7 minutes just to get a good caramelizing on the outside for a total of about 14-15 minutes. We poured some of the reduced marinade over the finished product for moisture (just in case). This produced a very moist, tender, FLAVORFUL chicken thigh. We are going to do breasts and thighs for the party, this was PERFECT. Not too hot, or sweet, just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 473) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Chef John's Jerk Chicken Wings

Caramelized chicken wings marinated in spicy Jamaican jerk seasonings.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States