Jay's A Number One Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I really liked this recipe, and my husband did also. It was great because these hamburgers used items that we already had around so we didn't have to buy anything extra. We used onion buns which complemented the meat nicely. We also didn't have an issue with them falling apart like it sounds like other people did, but we didn't measure everything exactly as the recipe said, just added enough ingredients to keep everything together. The steak sauce gave them a nice little kick but it wasn't anything too spicy by any means. Since we liked these a lot I'm sure we will be making them again, thanks for the recipe, ANDREWSBUNCH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
These burgers really seemed promising based on the ingredients, but they were not what I was expecting at all. They tasted fine, but they tasted like meatloaf and crumbled really easily. I don't cook often and I realize that this may have been my fault, but I followed the recipe exactly. All in all, this wasn't horrible, but it wasn't great either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by K-Dub
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
This recipe was pretty good! The burgers did try to fall apart on me after I flipped them. Next time I would add a few more seasonings to the beef mixture for more taste and maybe a little more A-1 sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I make these every once in a while when I'm in the mood for a 'steak-type' burger. They are very tasty as is, but sometimes I'll add a little finely chopped or grated onion for a little extra something. I love topping these with sauteed mushrooms and onions and usually just use whatever cheese I have on hand (swiss is great). I've never had a problem with them falling apart or anything, but I also do not measure the breadcrumbs, just eyeball it and mix with my hands to get the right consistancy. All in all, a very nice, simple and tasty burger! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
These burgers turned out great and were so easy to make. We have made them on the grill and indoors too and both ways were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This is an awesome recipe for super moist tasty burgers. I, however, use 1/4 cup marinara sauce instead of steak sauce and put the burgers on sourdough buns for an Italian themed grilling night or I'll use a 1/4 cup of a smokier tasting cheese like Gouda and bread crumbs with no seasoning if I use the steak sauce. That way I don't end up with competing flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I made these last night, following the recipe exactly and I have to say these are not one of my family's favorites - my kids, 17- 11 1/2 & 10 - tasted but would not eat these. I love A-1 sauce and thought these would be terrific. They weren't so great. They're not good enough to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
We loved the flavor of these burgers! I didn't have italian breadcrumbs, so I used plain and added some oregano, basil, parsley, garlic powder, and onion salt. I forgot to follow other's tips to grill them on foil... I won't forget next time! They did kind of fall apart, but they still tasted very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Pretty good. The flavor was a little bland so I added some salt and pepper after cooking, and sprinkled some more mozzarella on top. Definitely not the right structure for burgers, so I ate it more as a mini meatloaf. All in all, I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
It's not my favorite burger recipe, but it was very good. I used ground buffalo instead of beef, it worked out great. I added chopped onion to the burger before cooking. I think I would use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States