Jayme's Cole Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This came out really good! I was a little leary, as it's completely different from the way I normally make cole slaw, but I went ahead anyway and I'm glad I did. It is sweet, but in a good way. The only change I made was to use a bag of pre-shredded cabbage/carrots instead of shredding my own cabbage. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
good for a last minute coleslaw recipe, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. Mannor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
To each her own, but I thought this cole slaw was boring, and I can't imagine how to rescue it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
It was very quick and easy and it makes ALOT of cole Slaw. I used a few bags of the pre-shredded cabbage, both green and red. I also added some shredded carrots for more color. I may cut down on the apple cider vinegar next time and add a bit more mayo or even a touch of sour cream or yogurt to be a little more creamy. A good standard- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This was good. Very good. It was one of many I tried my hand at making one evening for a fish fry. It was the closest to what you come to think of as a cole slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Great sub for store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin
Living In: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
add finely chopped celery (omit celery seed if too much of a good thing) and half a green pepper for an even better recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Some recipes have so many things added to give you bells and whistles it's difficult to remember what you're eating. This recipe is simple, few ingredients and anything but boring. Truly a great coleslaw and one that goes well with everything from Carolina pulled pork to burgers and dogs off the grill. This is a keeper! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I am Jayme. I've done a little playing around with this recipe since submitting it, and wanted to pass along some of the things I've done. First, for a low calorie version, you can use 1/4 brown sugar baking splenda instead of 1/2 cup brown sugar, and use fat free mayonnaise instead of regular. About a month ago, I was playing around with this recipe and added 1 cup of craisins, 2 diced braeburn apples, and 2 broiled and diced chicken breasts. I took it for Mother's Day and everyone loved it, and although I still love the original recipe to go with a simple dinner of burgers, hot dogs, or sloppy joes, the updated version is my new favorite salad to take for pot lucks and to serve with pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Since I like a vinegar slaw and my husband likes a cream slaw, this is the perfect recipe to make us both happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States