Jayme's Cole Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I was searching for recipes that use raw apple cider vinegar—it's such a healthy food to add to your diet—and came across this. It probably would have been great following the recipe exactly, but I made the following changes: - To make it healthier, I used 1/4 cup mayo and 1/4 cup plain yogurt. - I used both red and white cabbage, as I like the spiciness and color of the red. - I added 1 green onion, 1 carrot, and 2 banana peppers for color and flavor. It was very good; I'd definitely make it again. By the way, I disagree with some of the previous posters about cutting back the amount of vinegar—I didn't find the amount overwhelming at all, and I think it would likely have been bland with less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Good, easy recipe. I used light mayo and a bit less sugar. I will try the splenda the next time. Also added raisens which are a favorite at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
It was a really easy recipe to throw together as a BBQ side dish. I found it a little too vinegary, although it was better the next day. Next time I would add more sugar and mayo and less vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
First, let me say that I do not believe that there is any single "right" taste to cole slaw. That said, for me, this cole slaw is a three. The recipe makes an average-to-good tasting cole slaw. The taste is not bad, but nothing to write home about; not much depth, kind of thin. More vinegar taste than sweet. Personally, I like a creamier sauce with a little more sweetness. But, for some people, this will be the perfect cole slaw. So, if you like a thinner sauce, that's more tart, this is perfect for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Very yummy! And quick! Will definitely make again! Maybe next time I'll add some fruit, and red onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Way too much vinegar for my taste. After sitting in the fridge for about 3 hours, it seems to be less obvious so by tomorrow it should be fine (hopefully). I will make this recipe again but next time, cutting the vinegar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This was very easy to make and is a nice creamy type of cole slaw which I like. I took a suggestion from some of the other reviews and only used half of the apple cidar vinegar as I did not want it to be bitter. By doing this, the cole slaw actually turned out a little too sweet. Next time I will go exactly by what the recipe says. Definately goes well with BBQ pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Marx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I really like the sweet and tangy combo in this coleslaw. I added fresh celery and carrot and the craisins, as suggested, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Great Taste with alitte items in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
i made this for bbq sandwiches, it didn't say anything about letting it sit, so when i first tasted it after i mixed it i didn't really care for it. but i put it in the frige for a few hours before serving and it turned out a lot better. even tasted better the next day. i did have to add more cabbage and mayo because the vinegar was a little too much for my liking. will make again, my boyfriend asked to have the bbq and slaw at the very least once a month after we get married :). thanks jayme
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States