Javi's Really Real Mexican Ceviche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This was a complete waste of expensive seafood. It takes a whole lot longer than 1 hour for the shrimp and scallops to "cook" in the lime juice and since I listened to this recipe they never fully finished since everything else was already added. This recipe might work if you get pre-cooked seafood, but if you don't then you have to soak the seafood overnight in just lime juice before adding everything else. The 1 hour is very misleading and inaccurate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This dish came out fantastic. I only gave it 4 stars instead of five because I think the measurements are a bit off in this recipe. For instance, I served 12 people on easter with using 2 1/2 lbs shrimp (4 seemed Way too much), 2 cucumber, 1 lb immitation crab (instead of scallops), and 1 large onion. This made so much that I had a hard time finding a bowl to hold it. It was hit at our feast and everyone had some; as well many went for seconds. I still had nearly half a bowl of leftovers! (which is fine by me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Ercolini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
I made this for a potluck sort of affair, and it was well-received. I used one lb shrimp, one lb scallops, and one lb haddock loins (I'm a poor college kid, I can't afford $50 worth of fish), but kept the veggies the same. To facilitate eating with chips, I chopped up the fish to about the size of a fingernail. We ate this with globs of sour cream and guacamole, and some people even took some home. I made wraps out of the leftovers for lunch and dinner today, and I still have leftovers! This serves waaaay more people than I was expecting. The only problem is that it isn't as good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kxo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
So good! We have ceviche (made from my grandmother's recipe) every summer, served in martini or margarita glasses, of course, and Javi's recipe is the real thing. It's low-cal, too, which makes it even better. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I've been looking for a good ceviche recipe and all I had to see was the picture to know this was the one. I am from the Sonoran Mex area and this is the closest thing I've found to what they serve in resturants in that area. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
We used 2 lbs shrimp and 3 lbs talapia to cut on cost, but other than that we followed the recipe and loved it. We cut the shrimp and fish into smaller than bite sized pieces before adding the lime and lemon juice, so it cooked very quickly, an hour was more than adequit. We brought this to a party, hoping to munch on left overs for dinner and came home with an empty bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
This is a great recipe for those summertime picnics/BBQ's. I made it this past weekend and everyone could not stop raving about it!!! I highly recommend this treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Loved this and it was a big hit at the bunco party I took it to. The shrimp cookedd within a couple of hours in the lime juice so it was fine. Next time, I will leave the cucumber in big chunks, just a personal preference, and I'm thinking of adding avocado chunks. The flavors though as is in this recipe are fantastic. Thanks to Javi for making me look good ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELPRES

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe! I will make this again. I would like to mention that this recipe made more than my family and guests could eat. Huge servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
We always let the seafood sit overnight or for a few hours in the lime/lemon juice to "cook". Then drain a small amount of liquid before adding the rest of the ingredients. We mix in the chopped cucumber last since it will get mushy in the mix. Add a few slices of avocado on top and it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Ceviche

Delicious, refreshing Mexican seafood appetizer that’s bright with flavor.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States