Javi's Really Real Mexican Ceviche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I have had ceviche in Mexico & this is pretty close in taste. I like it best with shrimp & a good white fish. I also added radishes. It is good with scallops though. I like to eat it as a dip with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Loved this and it was a big hit at the bunco party I took it to. The shrimp cookedd within a couple of hours in the lime juice so it was fine. Next time, I will leave the cucumber in big chunks, just a personal preference, and I'm thinking of adding avocado chunks. The flavors though as is in this recipe are fantastic. Thanks to Javi for making me look good ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELPRES

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Light, refreshing, tastey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
turned out perfect and tasted great! It's a recipe you can easily customize to your own taste too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
It was really good, but I didn't add the oil, because I don't like the taste of oil in something you eat cold, and I had to add extra lime juice. Overall still 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This dish came out fantastic. I only gave it 4 stars instead of five because I think the measurements are a bit off in this recipe. For instance, I served 12 people on easter with using 2 1/2 lbs shrimp (4 seemed Way too much), 2 cucumber, 1 lb immitation crab (instead of scallops), and 1 large onion. This made so much that I had a hard time finding a bowl to hold it. It was hit at our feast and everyone had some; as well many went for seconds. I still had nearly half a bowl of leftovers! (which is fine by me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Ercolini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This is great, my first attempt at Ceviche. I used real crab, med shrimp and white fish. I will make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Scaled down and only used shrimp, but this is a great foundation recipe for ceviche. Certainly as enjoyable as ceviche we've had at quality restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe! I will make this again. I would like to mention that this recipe made more than my family and guests could eat. Huge servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Mmmmm... this was excellent! I didn't even add the salt, pepper or olive oil and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Ceviche

Delicious, refreshing Mexican seafood appetizer that’s bright with flavor.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States