Javi's Really Real Mexican Ceviche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I have had ceviche in Mexico & this is pretty close in taste. I like it best with shrimp & a good white fish. I also added radishes. It is good with scallops though. I like to eat it as a dip with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Loved this and it was a big hit at the bunco party I took it to. The shrimp cookedd within a couple of hours in the lime juice so it was fine. Next time, I will leave the cucumber in big chunks, just a personal preference, and I'm thinking of adding avocado chunks. The flavors though as is in this recipe are fantastic. Thanks to Javi for making me look good ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELPRES

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Light, refreshing, tastey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
turned out perfect and tasted great! It's a recipe you can easily customize to your own taste too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
It was really good, but I didn't add the oil, because I don't like the taste of oil in something you eat cold, and I had to add extra lime juice. Overall still 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This dish came out fantastic. I only gave it 4 stars instead of five because I think the measurements are a bit off in this recipe. For instance, I served 12 people on easter with using 2 1/2 lbs shrimp (4 seemed Way too much), 2 cucumber, 1 lb immitation crab (instead of scallops), and 1 large onion. This made so much that I had a hard time finding a bowl to hold it. It was hit at our feast and everyone had some; as well many went for seconds. I still had nearly half a bowl of leftovers! (which is fine by me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Ercolini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This is great, my first attempt at Ceviche. I used real crab, med shrimp and white fish. I will make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Scaled down and only used shrimp, but this is a great foundation recipe for ceviche. Certainly as enjoyable as ceviche we've had at quality restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe! I will make this again. I would like to mention that this recipe made more than my family and guests could eat. Huge servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Mmmmm... this was excellent! I didn't even add the salt, pepper or olive oil and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Crab Ceviche

See how to make a simple ceviche with imitation crab meat.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States