Javi's Really Real Mexican Ceviche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Just add clamato if you have it to make it sonoran style and have ketchup on the side. It taste really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
FANTASTIC!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Dyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
We followed the recipe and the shrimp were still raw after 5 hours. that was very disappointing! We ended up microwaving the ceviche for it to be cooked for a party. The flavor was good, but cook the shrimp first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Pretty good, but the proportions are off. I enjoyed the flavors though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Nice, authentic, the scallops are a nice touch. From reading other reviews, don't cut too much lime and lemon juice when scaling down recipe. It also helps to dice up the seafood, don't "cook" it whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Perhaps really fresh seafood necessary? I had such high hopes & was so excited to make it for our family's cinco de mayo supper. But we were disappointed! Followed recipe exactly -- except made the recipe calculated down for only "3" (that is, using 1/4 of all ingredients). In our family of 6, only one enjoyed it. The rest of us found the shrimp too tough. Just bought my shrimp today, so it was as fresh as I can get at my grocery store, but husband says we might give it a go again when we source some fresh-caught shrimp. Also, we've enjoyed ceviche at restaurants in the past, but usually with fish only vs shrimp & scallops. Might try the fish suggestions that other cooks listed in their reviews if we revisit this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I gave this recipe 4 stars because I found that the measurements were off. The first time I made this I followed the recipe exactly, and it took 6 + hours to "cook" the fish. It made way more than my family of 4 could even put a dent in, it also was very fishy tasting and we were quite disappointed. Now the 2nd time I made this I chose to make it with 1/2lb scallops, 1lb hake Fillets, and 1/2lb redfish, also doubled the amount of lime juice (86'd the lemon juice) to fully cover the fish and let it sit for about 30 min while I prepared all the veggies (I split the amounts of veggies in half) and added a dash of cayenne pepper too. ; ) we like it Hot* The lime juice "cooking" time was reduced to 1 hour 20 min and it was the best Ceviche we have had including our trip to Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. I hope this helps anyone who had the same issues I had my first attempt making this ceviche recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lais

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Very good. Since I was short on time, I didn't want to wait for shrimp to cook in lime. I dunked the seafood in boiling water for 10 seconds prior to cutting. Pretty good ceviche. I was told leftovers were better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ammelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I have bee making this recipe - exactly how it is, for a couple of years now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Shrimp were ok, but ahi tuna and halibut are the best. Cut raw fish into little bite size pieces and let sit until they "cook".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Crab Ceviche

See how to make a simple ceviche with imitation crab meat.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States