Javanese Pork Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2004
This was my first disappointment with a recipe from Allrecipes.com so I want to leave this warning. Pork tenderloin does not need brine. The recipe said discard brine, but it did not say wash it all off too! The pork was so salty, almost inedible. The peanut sauce marinade on its own would have been fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
I wouldn't change a thing. It was a hit at my dinner party. Someone commented on the spice, but that is exactly what I loved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
I always brine my pork so knew to rinse the tenderloin before proceding with the marinade. This is delicious. Not too salty after rinsing. Loved, loved, loved the peanut sauce! Don't be afraid to try this - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
Molly - you are absolutely correct that the brine needs to be washed off the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Do you like spicy? Peanuts? Then make this - but use pork LOIN. It sounds more bothersome than it actually is. I cut a pork loin into chops and a roast and brined it all in the brine solution - freezing the chops for later. The marinade / sauce can be made ahead of time. I made it according to the instructions except I didn't have peanut oil so I used sesame oil. I rinsed the pork loin after removing from the marinade and placed it in a bag with less than half the marinade / sauce. Squeeze the air out of the bag and back into the refrigerator. I cooked the loin indirect on the grill to 140 - took off and tented. Served with grilled pineapple, red peppers and Jasmine rice. The meat itself is not spicy the sauce / marinade is. Serve the sauce on the side. Thanks for a fun recipe that made my hubby very happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
Excellent - and I didn't even do everything right! Didn't have Kosher salt, so used about 1/8 cup regular. Didn't have Sake, so used water. Was afraid of the spiciness, so used 1/2 the amounts of chili paste & sauce. didn't have ginger root, so used dried ground ginger. Left out the green onion and cilantro. It was still amazing. Enjoyed by husband and 10 & 14 yr old daughters. Spiciness was just right for us at half the chili stuff. Loved it, served with stir fried asparagus and steamed rice. yummy, yummy, yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
I marinated it in the peanut mixture for 3 days, because we were not home, and it was still excellent! Very easy, moist and tasty. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Flavor: Excellent. Texture of sauce: gritty/grainy/not making sauce again. I will try this again as a marinade only using maybe a Tbsp of peanut butter instead of the full amount for the flavor but the refrigerate and reheat gave a weird scrap off the sauce texture. Other minor changes: used pork chops instead of tenderloin as what I had at home, and baked instead of grilled since my grill has snow on it (it's still winter in MN)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
I've made this twice in the last three weeks, and all I can say is wow! When I found the recipe, I was skeptical, I didn't think pork tenderloin needed brining as it's so tender and flavourful already. I'm so glad I followed the recipe, it made a delicious piece of meat even better. This recipe has made a peanut sauce fan of my hubby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
incredible! a little salty, maybe I didn't wash the brine off enough? so tender and delicious! I added extra sake, garlic, and ginger to the marinade and a little less chili paste because my toddler and husband aren't keen on super spicy. next time I will make one tenderloin mild for them and regular for me! served with rice and sauteed spinach. SERIOUSLY DELICIOUS! Will be making regularly for sure! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Grilled Jerk Pork Tenderloin

See how to use jerk spices to make perfect jerk pork tenderloin.

Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a slightly sweet marinade for moist and tender grilled pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States