Jasmine's Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Maybe it's because I'm so used to eating vegetables this way that I found this good, but only average. I can tell you, however, that even as an Italian familiar with pancetta, I'll take regular old American bacon over it any day! Unless you're familiar with pancetta and really like it, I think I'm safe to suggest you substitute bacon here and in any other recipe calling for pancetta. I've even forced myself to try to like it and just can't. I tried again in this dish, tasted it and started over again, the second time with bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I made this low calorie and fat free. I used olive oil flavored Pam and liquid smoke instead of pancetta. The flavor was great and it is healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I definitely recommend adding heavy cream toward the end. I also threw in sliced mushrooms and sprinkled with Parmesan. Oh my lord, SO good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This was a great recipe for brussel sprouts. The only change I made was I used bacon instead of pancetta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
I love this recipe, but I added a half a cup of half and half at the end and let it simmer for a bit. It made it even better! So creamy and still had that salty pancetta taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mojito Mama
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Loved this!!! My Husband practically licked the plate and even my Picky kids ate it all. Revised 07/2007 I made this camping and used bacon. WOW it was a Huge Hit everyone wanted the recipe !!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mojito Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
This was an excellent way to turn boring old brussel sprouts into a restaurant quality side dish. My hubby particularly liked it. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Wonderful! Next time I'm adding onions too. DELICIOUS! Oh and I used fresh proscuitto from the deli cut in 1/4 inch slices and diced it myself. Much more flavor and a lot less fat than pancetta. GREAT RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
I did not have pancetta on hand so I used regular bacon in this dish. I'm sure the pancetta would have made the taste even better but this recipe for brusell sprouts was the best I have had so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Far Rockaway, New York, USA
Living In: Woodside, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I was looking for something last minute to use up a package of frozen brussels sprouts I had and stumbled on this. Considering I had to use frozen ones and bacon as I didn't have pancetta on hand, it was still pretty good. I can't wait to try it with fresh sprouts and pancetta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAF1969

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States