Jasmine's Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
This was the first time I have ever made brussel sprouts and MOST of my clan loved em! I have 4 kids so that is saying a LOT!! Even my picky hubby ate them! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Great recipe. I also substituted bacon since I had no pancetta on hand and added a few shaved almonds as I am a nut freak, but otherwise stuck to the recipe. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Maybe it's because I'm so used to eating vegetables this way that I found this good, but only average. I can tell you, however, that even as an Italian familiar with pancetta, I'll take regular old American bacon over it any day! Unless you're familiar with pancetta and really like it, I think I'm safe to suggest you substitute bacon here and in any other recipe calling for pancetta. I've even forced myself to try to like it and just can't. I tried again in this dish, tasted it and started over again, the second time with bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I am always looking for a new way to cook sprouts! I have used this recipe more than once. I use regular bacon. And it turns out great. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
So good! Like other reviewers I used bacon, which worked really well. I also halved my sprouts before I cooked them to save time. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This is really good. I also used bacon, and drained off a small ammount of the grease to keep it from being too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Koch Deskins

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I really liked this recipe. I modified it slightly by mixing chardonnay in with the water used to cook the brussel sprouts. Then, using bacon (only because I didn't have the pancetta), I deglazed the garlic and some green onion whites with a little of the same chardonnay and thickened the "sauce" with a little bit of corn starch. It coated the brussel sprouts and was perfect. The variation using half-and-half sounded really good too. I'll have to try it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harbor City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I'm not normally a brussel sprout person, but I found this recipe to be very tasty. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This was very, very good BUT I doubled the brussel sprouts and still used 8 oz of pancetta and it was fine! I also drained about 1/2 of the drippings before adding sprouts and additional olive oil. Was fabulous with crockpot sauerbraten and sauteed red cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Wow! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States