Jasmine's Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I make Brussel sprouts quite often and this is a great combo! I did not boil the sprouts first though. I cut them in half, sautéed them in olive oil with mushrooms and garlic. After about 7 minutes, I added the Pancetta. Cooked for another 5 minutes or so. Then added some beef broth, covered and simmered until everything was cooked together. Definitely recommend. Bacon would be a nice substitution for the Panetta as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This was amazing! I used bacon instead of pancetta, and about 5 cloves of garlic. I added fresh grated parmesan cheese before serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summit, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I made some changesm I use regular bacon, alot of people didn't like tha pancetta, I did but some people are picky, I also added some chopped ham about a 1/4 cup and don't add the garlic until the end it only takes a few seconds to cook the Garlic or it will burn and give you a sour biter garlic taste. I also used a 1/4 teaspoon of garlic salt and onion salt. It makes it much more flavorful. Slced mushroom work well too. you can make asparagas the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef zaza

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
So good. I made two pounds of sprouts and subbed bacon as it was what I had on hand-- I used about half a package of low sodium bacon. I also salted the water and boiled for the full 7 mins and they were perfect for us. I didn't think my picky 6 year old would even try them, but she ate most of them (with a little encouragement). I will be making this again for sure! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I used bacon from the butcher's shop, garden fresh brussels sprouts, sea salt, fresh ground pepper, and added a little thinly sliced onion... Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This recipe is delicious! I added a smokey flavor but throwing in several dashes of Liquid Smoke. I also exchanged the pancetta for prosciutto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennaRose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Yay you, Jasmine! Out of 6 kids, I only have 1 that will eat Brussels Sprouts. :( My hubby and I love them, and I was determined to figure out a way to get the little "darlings" to at least try a leaf! Well, this one did it! The one thing I did different was to slice the sprouts into a few pieces instead of just half after only blanching them. For some reason, my kids were less taken aback by them, and cleaned the bowl out! Thanks for sharing, and this will now put those little green fellows into a regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grobiegirl1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Arlington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rutherford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Have made 4 times now -- tonight I added a splash of Worcestireshire sauce, was tasty but not necessary, I like this recipe as is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Made for Thanksgiving (and other times) and there were none left! Great flavors and so simple! You can easily substitute bacon for the Pancetta but Pancetta can be cut into chunks and IMPP much more tastier than fried bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyD35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This was my first time ever having brussels sprouts and off this recipe I loved them! I added some chopped onion with the pancetta and garlic (because I love onion) and I cannot wait to get more brussels sprouts and make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States