Jasmine Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Perfect! I needed a simple rice, something beyond just basic cooked rice, but nothing that would detract from the main dish. I wanted it to be a tasty and attractive supporting side dish. This was exactly what I wanted. Beautiful bright white contrasting attractively with the bright green peas (I added a little extra). Just enough flavor from the onion and the bay leaf. This was an excellent foundation for "Halibut with Tomato-Basil Sauce," also from this site. Very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
The rice has a very subtle taste and I enjoyed it. I added some garlic while the onion was sauting and used one can of chicken stock in place of the part of the water. The rice was good however this makes a lot more than four servings. Because the meat I made the rice with had a strong taste it complimented well. I wouldn't suggest this unless your meat has a lot of flavor. Also, all I had was a can of peas and carrots. I though this needed more vegetables though and next time I would double the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2000
Basically the flavor wasn't different enough from preparing Jasmine Rice alone for me to add the extra ingredients. If I were to do this again I might see if adding more onion makes a difference. I prepared this with Baked Vegetables and Fish in a vegetable patch. It is a fine recipe, but it really doesn't taste any different than Jasmine Rice alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I just made this rice to accompany a garlic citrus chicken dinner. I sauteed 2 TBS olive oil with minced onion and minced garlic. I did not have any peas so I grated 2 large carrots and added to garlic and onion. Added 1 1/2 cups of jasmine rice and stirred to coat. Poured in 2 cups chicken broth and 1 cup water. Added 1 bay leaf, chopped fresh basil, and some ground black pepper. I did not add salt since I used the chicken broth which is high in sodium. Brought to a slight boil then put on low until all liquid was gone stirring occasionally. Took off heat and covered for 40 minutes. It was the best rice I have ever cooked. Thank you for the base recipe. You can do so many variations with this one. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
This is a simple rice dish that goes with a lot of different main dishes. Like the other reviews you need to serve it with a strong dish. I served it with a nice New York Strip steak. I added one beef bouillion cube to it. I think next time I will add two. It makes more that 4 servings more like 6-8. I will put this in my box....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
This a wonderful dish. Jasmine rice has the most heavenly smell as well as taste and this recipe brings it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
My entire family thought this was a wonderful recipe. If you follow the directions exactly, this rice cooks thoroughly and tastes wonderful. However I did use a combination of frozen peas and carrots because I did not have just peas. I also buy authentic "jasmine rice" from the international section of the grocery store ( mine comes from Thailand) which I believe tastes better than the ones you can buy in the regular rice section of your supermarket and it's cheaper! I also made it as an a side to a wonderful asian chicken recipe I have which I may share on here later. WONDERFUL RICE DISH! Thanks Brian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
I gave this 4 stars b/c although as a side supporting filler dish it does not have, and I feel should not be expected to have, a full, knock-your-socks-off effect. It has a fragrant and subtle flavor. I will make it again - thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
While this did indeed smell WONDERFUL as it cooked, we found it to be terribly bland. I'd added a lot of pine nuts to give it some texture and sprinkled it with ground nutmeg before serving. It would be worthwhile making again if the cook added more spices to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2000
A very simple, aromatic, tasty side dish. Great to bring to potluck dinners with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States