Jasmine Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
My entire family thought this was a wonderful recipe. If you follow the directions exactly, this rice cooks thoroughly and tastes wonderful. However I did use a combination of frozen peas and carrots because I did not have just peas. I also buy authentic "jasmine rice" from the international section of the grocery store ( mine comes from Thailand) which I believe tastes better than the ones you can buy in the regular rice section of your supermarket and it's cheaper! I also made it as an a side to a wonderful asian chicken recipe I have which I may share on here later. WONDERFUL RICE DISH! Thanks Brian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
This a wonderful dish. Jasmine rice has the most heavenly smell as well as taste and this recipe brings it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I first found this recipe a few months ago and it's become a staple in our house. I make this at least once a month. Sometimes I leave out the peas and sometimes I use chicken broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, New York, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
i used chix broth instead of the water and used a little less olive oil but did everything else as written.i even threw my peas in still frozen and it turned out perfect. very good and easy. the only thing to watch out for is the 40 min resting time. i didnt notice that when i started the recipe so i had to put a hold on the rest of dinner. served this w/ lemon garlic tilapia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This was a wonderful accompaniment to my grilled cedar plank salmon, it has such a mild, but oh so fragrant taste. I substituted shallots for the onion, I love the milder onion flavor from them. I also used 2 cups chicken stock and 1 cup of white wine, and added in some sauteed minced fresh garlic and baby bella mushrooms. I can't make to make this dish again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Jasmine Rice is my favorite rice and this recipe makes it even better. This recipe says it makes 4 servings. Actually, it makes at least 8 reasonably sized servings. I substituted carrots (which I cut into very small pieces) for the peas and (in my opinion) carrots work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brown City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This rice is amazing and I will make it again and again! It is so good that it goes with anything. We didn't use any water, only chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This was my first experience with jasmine rice and your recipe was outstanding! Being a vegetarian, I could make a meal out of this very flavorful rice. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
VERY GOOD--ADDED A LITTLE GRATED GINGER-- AT THE END RICE DOES NOT NEED TO SIT- FOR 40 MINS-- 10 MINS IS PLENTY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GNFSHN4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Polo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
This was really good! I used sesame oil instead of olive oil, green onions instead of regular onion. After step 1 I dumped everything in my rice cooker... added the 3 cups of water and I was done. So easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States