Jasmine Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
This is a simple rice dish that goes with a lot of different main dishes. Like the other reviews you need to serve it with a strong dish. I served it with a nice New York Strip steak. I added one beef bouillion cube to it. I think next time I will add two. It makes more that 4 servings more like 6-8. I will put this in my box....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
Simple yet good reciple. I added a little more green peas than called for but besides that made it like the recipe called for. Watch out for the bay leaves when eating and be careful not to break them up when stirring the rice. I also do agree that it makes way more than four servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
Pay attention to the rice so it doesn't stick to the bottom of the pan while cooking, it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Seabrook, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
this dish is ok but do remember that it does not go with everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
I thought this was quite good - its taste is very subtle but it makes a very pretty and fragrant side dish (as opposed to plain old boring white rice). As someone else suggested, this rice works best when served with something that has a "strong" flavor (i.e. curry, black bean sauces, etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
The rice has a very subtle taste and I enjoyed it. I added some garlic while the onion was sauting and used one can of chicken stock in place of the part of the water. The rice was good however this makes a lot more than four servings. Because the meat I made the rice with had a strong taste it complimented well. I wouldn't suggest this unless your meat has a lot of flavor. Also, all I had was a can of peas and carrots. I though this needed more vegetables though and next time I would double the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
Suggestion: cover the rice as it absorbs the water. Otherwise you get crunchy, uncooked rice. Yuck! The flavor was mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINNONA

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
While this did indeed smell WONDERFUL as it cooked, we found it to be terribly bland. I'd added a lot of pine nuts to give it some texture and sprinkled it with ground nutmeg before serving. It would be worthwhile making again if the cook added more spices to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
I gave this 4 stars b/c although as a side supporting filler dish it does not have, and I feel should not be expected to have, a full, knock-your-socks-off effect. It has a fragrant and subtle flavor. I will make it again - thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2000
Basically the flavor wasn't different enough from preparing Jasmine Rice alone for me to add the extra ingredients. If I were to do this again I might see if adding more onion makes a difference. I prepared this with Baked Vegetables and Fish in a vegetable patch. It is a fine recipe, but it really doesn't taste any different than Jasmine Rice alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States