Jasmine Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
3 things are missing from this recipe: minced garlic, fresh sliced mushrooms and chicken or beef broth (depending on what you serve the rice with). Add the minced garlic with the onions to saute. To the onion/garlic saute I also added salt, pepper,basil and a pinch of crushed red pepper flakes. I added 1 cup of sliced fresh mushrooms with the peas, rices, etc. For 1 cup of rice, I used 1 cup water and 1 cup broth. My rice was slightly under cooked, so I'd recommend letting the rice simmer for about 10 mins before reducing heat. Had the rice been perfectly cooked and with these 3 additions, this recipe would be 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AllyBakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This taste like plain steamed rice with peas mixed in. With that being said, i liked it. I liked the peas with the rice but i cant give it more than 3 stars cause it didnt taste like anything. The onions, and bay leaf did nothing and was a waste of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I added everything to my rice cooker, with the additional of some Italian seasoning. It turned out perfect. I really liked the addition of the peas. I served with Fish Fillets Italiano from the site. This was a nice change to plain white rice. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This is so easy and so good. It makes quite a bit but we did not have any leftovers. My husband and three boys could not get enough of it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I cooked this in my rice cooker. Use a little bit of garlic anduse chicken broth instead water. I will do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This rice was very, very good. I left out the peas. I made it with the "Curried Coconut Chicken"... it was unbelievable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
We liked this recipe a lot! I added some freshly chopped garlic to the sauteed onion and used baby lima beans instead of the peas. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Excellent recipe to add a little depth to jasmine rice. Prepared as written, this dish went very well with Red Lentil Curry http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Red-Lentil-Curry/Detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Jasmine Rice is my favorite rice and this recipe makes it even better. This recipe says it makes 4 servings. Actually, it makes at least 8 reasonably sized servings. I substituted carrots (which I cut into very small pieces) for the peas and (in my opinion) carrots work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brown City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Not quite as flavorful as I thought it was going to be. Next time I might use a chicken buillion cube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry G Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States