Jasmine Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Simple mild taste. Serve with a strong flavour main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I love Jasmine rice! One small addition which I would recommend to those who find the taste still a bit bland. Instead of water use chicken broth and you may also want to add some red pepper to add a little more colour and taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roseheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
This was the first time I had Jasmine & it was a pleasant experience. I was expecting a stronger flavor but was glad that it was subtle. I made it with sesame chicken (also from this site) & thought it was a perfect combination. Loved the peas in it... Made for a pretty rice dish! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
The secret is to only use fresh or frozen peas and enjoy the subtle flowery taste and smell of jasmine rice. I would nix the bay leaf next time. Overall, this is a beautiful recipe! Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This is really good rice. I love the flavor of the bay in it. I did change slightly. Used only chicken broth. I used about 1/4 cup onion and about 1/2 cup peas and cut the recipe for the rice and broth by a 1/3. Still more than 4 servings. Must be some really big servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Perfect! I needed a simple rice, something beyond just basic cooked rice, but nothing that would detract from the main dish. I wanted it to be a tasty and attractive supporting side dish. This was exactly what I wanted. Beautiful bright white contrasting attractively with the bright green peas (I added a little extra). Just enough flavor from the onion and the bay leaf. This was an excellent foundation for "Halibut with Tomato-Basil Sauce," also from this site. Very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
This is good if you like mushy rice, but if you like the grains to still be solid and separate, reduce water to 1.5 ratio instead of 2. So that would be 2 1/4 cup liquid for 1 1/2 cup rice. Other rices do need more water, but jasmine and basmati do better with less. I do love peas in my rice, so great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This was really good. Followed the recipe and it worked great! I made this to go with Pineapple Chicken tenders from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Doyle Lundy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
very light almost to light in flavor. nice consistency, will make it w/chicken broth next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking Kitty
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Average..I agree with others that this rice really didnt have much to it. Maybe by adding chicken broth it would be good. I just wanted to stick to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States