Jasmine Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I added extra onion, garlic, a little bit of Chinese tianjin preserved vegetable to the oil.. then the peas, followed by the rice with 1 cup water and 2 cups chicken broth. I didn't use the bay leaf. My rice came out perfect though. and absolutely loved it. next time I make it I will use more Tianjin and possibly a touch of ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
don't waste your time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
i followed the recipe, except for the cooking directions. i didnt have as much time as it called for, so i covered it while steaming instead of letting the water cook off uncovered. i also did not need to let it sit afterwards. it was very mild, and went great with the thai food i made. great recipe, i love the peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaPulk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Simple mild taste. Serve with a strong flavour main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I love Jasmine rice! One small addition which I would recommend to those who find the taste still a bit bland. Instead of water use chicken broth and you may also want to add some red pepper to add a little more colour and taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roseheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
This was the first time I had Jasmine & it was a pleasant experience. I was expecting a stronger flavor but was glad that it was subtle. I made it with sesame chicken (also from this site) & thought it was a perfect combination. Loved the peas in it... Made for a pretty rice dish! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
The secret is to only use fresh or frozen peas and enjoy the subtle flowery taste and smell of jasmine rice. I would nix the bay leaf next time. Overall, this is a beautiful recipe! Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This is really good rice. I love the flavor of the bay in it. I did change slightly. Used only chicken broth. I used about 1/4 cup onion and about 1/2 cup peas and cut the recipe for the rice and broth by a 1/3. Still more than 4 servings. Must be some really big servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Perfect! I needed a simple rice, something beyond just basic cooked rice, but nothing that would detract from the main dish. I wanted it to be a tasty and attractive supporting side dish. This was exactly what I wanted. Beautiful bright white contrasting attractively with the bright green peas (I added a little extra). Just enough flavor from the onion and the bay leaf. This was an excellent foundation for "Halibut with Tomato-Basil Sauce," also from this site. Very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
This is good if you like mushy rice, but if you like the grains to still be solid and separate, reduce water to 1.5 ratio instead of 2. So that would be 2 1/4 cup liquid for 1 1/2 cup rice. Other rices do need more water, but jasmine and basmati do better with less. I do love peas in my rice, so great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States