Japanese Zucchini and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
great recipe! This is my "go-to" side dish when I'm picking up things at the farmer's market. We have super sized zucchini here on Maui, so I only need to use one. Also, using a Maui Sweet onion gives it such a nice kick with the Aloha Teriyaki and Shoyu sauce (all Hawaii local). I only used 1/2 T of seeds, because a full T seemed to overpower this recipe. I also add a 1/2 Tbsp of butter to this recipe, like I do with Japanese Fried Rice, and it turns out great. So glad I found this recipe...makes me think of all my yummy meals at Benihana! Adding hibachi steak next time, I'm sure it will be yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Loved it. No teriyaki so subbed oyster sauce. Tasted great still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I really love this recipe. It's my favorite way to use zucchini now. I've tried it with and without a splash of sesame oil, and really, either way is great. I like making some extra sauce to make sure there's some to splash over a steaming bed of rice. Thanks for a really great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I followed the instructions exactly. My helper said it tastes like "nothing". Not sure what I did wrong but there was very little flavor. After trying to eat it as is, I added some crushed red pepper and granulated garlic. I had some liquid in the pan, so I added 1 tbsp corn starch mixed with a tiny bit of water. Much improved with 1/4 c Parmesan Cheese sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Mmmm! Loved the flavor! Mine sauce was quite watery with the zucchini juices, so I sprinkled in some corn starch right into the juice whisking it until it thickened up ever so slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Took advice & added garlic. Hubby thought it had a crunchy taste, even though the zucchini was cooked through. We both liked that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
very tasty. I must admit that we like our food rather spice so I made changes to this first time out. I added 1/2 tablespoon each of Ponzu, and sriracha and 3/4 tablespoon Tiger sauce. really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Cox Richey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Fresh and delicious. I have never liked the taste of teriyaki, so I just added a little more soy sauce (gluten-free) and I could not find my sesame seeds so I used a toasted sesame ginger seasoning that I had on hand. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I tried it, I did not have terriaki sauce. But added butter and lemon juice from another reviewer. I will try it again with terriaki sauce...and see if it taste better..I will be back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Delicious! Made it exactly as written, except my sesame seeds were not toasted. And I always use low-sodium soy sauce, so it wasn't too salty. Really good, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States