Japanese Zucchini and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I've been making this for about as many years as Japanese steak houses have been around and I had the opportunity to watch how they prepared this. As do these steak houses, I don't use the teriyaki sauce, just the soy sauce, and add a dollop of butter and a squeeze of lemon at the end. Delicious, especially served with some grilled chicken, steak, or shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
336 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
Great recipe, but I made a few changes: (1) Replaced vege oil w/seasame seed oil (2) Sliced the zucchini w/a potato peeler [for a more appealing/professional look] (3) Reduced zucchini cook time from 5 min to 1.5 minutes (4) Served over white jasmine rice. This recipe and these changes made a delicious dinner that even my 2 year old loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: San Bruno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
I took a chance and made something with no ratings at all based on the ingredients, and boy was I happy I did! I'm always looking for a way to make zucchini since I love it so much and this did the trick. It tasted like something out of a Japanese restaurant. I did add several cloves of fresh chopped garlic since I don't make anything especially veggies without it, but the rest kept the same. My teen even liked it. Thankyou and I hope more people try this recipe, it's so worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4FIVE05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This is a great basic recipe with lots of possibilities! I used sesame oil and added cubed firm tofu and some diced garlic to the mix. I also added a splash of rice vinegar. That really made the other flavors pop and reminded me of something from a hibachi restaurant. Put this over brown rice and you have a nutritious and filling meal. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
What a great idea! Make sure you are adding just enough soy sauce though, cause it may turn out too salty. In any case taste before you add. Thanks for this fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
This was excellent - Very correct it tastes just like a restaurant entree. I will make again - but use more zucchini and onions because you will want more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocokide

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
A friend gave my tons of zucchini and I was wanting something different to fix with them. I gave this one as try as I happened to have all the ingredients. Everyone was right, this is a keeper! I am taking this one to work tomorrow and give it out. You won't believe how delicous and easy this dish is. As a matter of fact, there might not be any left for anyone else, excuse me while I get another helping!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I really enjoyed this as a side to my grilled salmon. My boyfriend was happy, too. I added a little sesame oil, and plenty of sesame seeds to make sure it got full flavor. i also added shitake mushrooms which were a nice mix. next time i will be sure to cut zucchini even thinner so that it absorbs flavor easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Avon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I can't belive I haven't rated this one. It is amazing. I have made it so many times and there is never a complaint. this is fabulous as a veggie side dish and goes really well with rice. I will buy zucchini out of season so make this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
Very good as written, but five stars with a tiny splash of sesame oil. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States