Japanese Zucchini and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Simply loved this. Wouldn't change a thing! (I'm allergic to sesame seeds, but didn't think it was missing anything.) Used a mandoline to slice the onions and zuccs, and made a double recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I was given a bunch of Zucchini and I wanted to do something different with it. It was delicious. I did not have teriyaki sauce so I skipped it. I did what naples34102 suggested and used some butter and a splash of lemon at the end. I also used a teaspoon of hot chili sauce for added flavor. Toasted sesame oil was what I used for the veggie oil. This is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hermiston, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I loved this! It was incredibly easy to make, flavorful, and just the perfect amount of food for one when cut in half. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
This was a nice side and easy to make. I added some garlic. Will make again. Nice over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Loved the ease and flavor of this dish ! Zucchini was on sale and I wanted to do something different. I had sesame seeds for another dish I had tried because you have to have the sesame seeds. Made as explained, loved every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ohio Cook Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Great way to prepare zucchini that is so abundant in the summer. I made it along with chicken marsh. Like eating at a Japanese restaurant! My husband rarely eats vegetables and he took a second helping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taradowdy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manasquan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This was excellent! Very delicious day one, and phenomenal day two. If you let it sit for a day, the sesame flavor comes out more strongly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RazzyHoHo
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Tried to slice our zucchini thinly...., but perhaps we did not cut our zucchini thinly enough? I have to admit that our family is less familiar with Japanese cuisine, and thus cannot compare this to 'the real thing', just with what we do and do not like to date. This time around, our zucchini and onions were quite bland, though redeemable by serving them alongside a flavorful chicken dish (all on rice). First, however, we added some salt, sugar, and rice wine vinegar. If we try this again (which we probably will since we love zucchini and have it in our garden): we may try this again using a potato peeler as one reviewer suggested. We'll probably also make other changes (adding garlic and perhaps ginger and/or red pepper flakes or chili sauce). Might try another reviewer's suggestion of skipping the teriyaki sauce, upping the soy and adding lemon and butter as he had seen in a Japanese restaurant? Still might keep that touch of sugar we used this time though (just enough to season, not sweeten - not to say that such changes would be Japanese in nature, just more to our liking.....).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Tastes just like what you would have at a Japanese Steakhouse. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States