Japanese Zucchini and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This was excellent! Very delicious day one, and phenomenal day two. If you let it sit for a day, the sesame flavor comes out more strongly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RazzyHoHo
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Tried to slice our zucchini thinly...., but perhaps we did not cut our zucchini thinly enough? I have to admit that our family is less familiar with Japanese cuisine, and thus cannot compare this to 'the real thing', just with what we do and do not like to date. This time around, our zucchini and onions were quite bland, though redeemable by serving them alongside a flavorful chicken dish (all on rice). First, however, we added some salt, sugar, and rice wine vinegar. If we try this again (which we probably will since we love zucchini and have it in our garden): we may try this again using a potato peeler as one reviewer suggested. We'll probably also make other changes (adding garlic and perhaps ginger and/or red pepper flakes or chili sauce). Might try another reviewer's suggestion of skipping the teriyaki sauce, upping the soy and adding lemon and butter as he had seen in a Japanese restaurant? Still might keep that touch of sugar we used this time though (just enough to season, not sweeten - not to say that such changes would be Japanese in nature, just more to our liking.....).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Tastes just like what you would have at a Japanese Steakhouse. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Made this side dish to accompany some a shrimp entree and vegetable fried rice. I didn't use the sesame seeds. It was absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Loved this, was just like the Japanese steakhouses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Really good recipe! Felt like it needed a touch more salt for my taste, so I added a splash more soy than called for and it came out very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Simple, Fast, Delicious. I followed the recipe exactly. It's worth every star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This was an easy and tasty recipe. I followed the recipe but left out the teriyaki sauce since I didn't have it. It was wonderful as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Very very good... This recipe tastes great as a stir fry served over rice but also tastes excellent by itself as a side dish... either way the toasted sesame seeds definitely add a great flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Really liked this, didn't have teriyaki sauce, but followed the rest. Very easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momtojandj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States